Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: router passwd retrieving?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4

    Question router passwd retrieving?

    Hi,

    I have serious problems...

    First of all, I've managed to loose my pendrive, I really loved it, but is doesn't matter now. The real matter, is that my passwd for my router was on that.. I could read my wpakey from one of the non used laptops, it was saved in the windows's registry, so I have access over ethernet and wifi too, but I need to get into the router for some portforwarding, and adding a mac adress filter to a new client machine.

    I know, this is the part when everybody says, to reset the router with the button on the back of it... The problem is, that I don't know my ISP-s username or passwd, and if I just phone them, they will charge me for 3 months of service fee if they have to help me by MY mistake, which is likely my mistake to loose the username/password This is the country that I live in....

    I saw a few tutorials with dic attacks, but clearly its gonna be useless for me. I used to store the passwd on my pendrive, because it was like that: S[a+13 or stg, so I don't know what to do with it.

    I don't know what information is needed for you, to help me, if you want for sure. Anyway, my router is a TP-LINK WR340G TL-WR340G (its cheap and sucks, hope it makes my job easier).

    So, if anyone could help me, or show the first steps I would really appreciate it.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: router passwd retrieving?

    It sounds like your ISP kind of sucks. Charging a service fee for calling them up and asking what your assigned password is. Unfortunately though, thats exactly what you're going to have to do.

    Id suggest you write down the password for your ISP when they tell you. And if they charge you for the service call, Id consider switching ISPs.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Senior Member lordplagueis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: router passwd retrieving?

    your first step would be to search harder fyi you answered your own question. <I know, this is the part when everybody says, to reset the router with the button on the back of it...> <The problem is, that I don't know my ISP-s username or passwd> use the default login and password, and if you dont know it google knows it.
    HP DV7
    8GB DDR3
    Core i7-720QM
    Nvidia GeForce GT 320M

    BT5-64bit x WIN7-64bit DualBoot

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: router passwd retrieving?

    Yes, I know my isp is 'kind of' sucks, but it provides 90mbits/40mbits for a really cheap price (in my country a 8mbit dsl connection costs double than mine). So its sucks, but yeah, cant do much :\

    "use the default login and password, and if you dont know it google knows it. "

    I wrote that I changed my routers passwrd from admin/admin, and made it random, stored on my pendrive, which i've lost... so its not an option

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: router passwd retrieving?

    Quote Originally Posted by bucimaci View Post
    Yes, I know my isp is 'kind of' sucks, but it provides 90mbits/40mbits for a really cheap price (in my country a 8mbit dsl connection costs double than mine). So its sucks, but yeah, cant do much :\

    "use the default login and password, and if you dont know it google knows it. "

    I wrote that I changed my routers passwrd from admin/admin, and made it random, stored on my pendrive, which i've lost... so its not an option


    So use the reset button. If there is no reset button contact the ISP and ask them. This is not a backtrack issue.

Similar Threads

  1. [ciscos] - Backtrack 4 - Cisco Passwd Scanner
    By firebits in forum Suporte Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 07:55 PM
  2. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-02-2009, 02:03 PM
  3. Windows passwd crack
    By phen1x in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2009, 02:55 AM
  4. WinDOZE passwd crack
    By Slimmay in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-13-2008, 08:12 AM
  5. retrieving a hidden AP MAC address
    By scint in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-30-2008, 06:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •