Thread: clear cookies or something whit ettercap

Just burned his ISO

Default clear cookies or something whit ettercap

Hello, im new with backtrack and ettercap.
    i have sucess to arp-poison and enable ssl sniff in etter.conf.
    But my question now is...
    When i sniff the victim, for example hotmail login password it works great, but in the most case the victim is alredy logged in when i start to sniff and that resault in no password is sniffed. i tried to isolate the host from lan for a while but that dosent work, i wonder if it is possible to clear the cash or cookies to force the host to relogin on hotmail with password, or if it is some other way to do this?

thanks
    squashen

ps: excuse my VERY VERY bad english

Default Re: clear cookies or something whit ettercap

+1 !

It is possible to see the cookie with the encrypted password, however it would take too long too crack the hash of that captured cookie.

So, I think this is a good question.

Just burned his ISO

Hi,
    Try using Sslstrip by Moxie Marlinspike, Moxie Marlinspike >> software >> sslstrip, along with Ettercap-ng. Using the -k flag will kill all active ssl sessions of the victim machine. aka you will be logged out of say, Facebook on your victim computer (you are doing this in a test enviroment on your own network aren't you?...). There are many tutorials on this site and others on using Sslstrip so I wont go into any details.
    But, that said, please do NOT use this against actual victims (i.e. in your local coffee shop), it is illegal and unethical to decrypt or otherwise manipulate other people's packets as they go through the air. Just don't do it. You may not get caught, but its still wrong, not to mention greatly discouraged on this site. But, assuming you are trying to learn this for legitimate purposes, if you have any questions, I'm here to help.

Thanks BobaFett, that worked indeed!

However, it did not work with for example Windows Live Mail.. Any knowledge on that part?