Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 41

Thread: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

  1. #21
    Just burned his ISO Mafaioz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Behind you...sniffing ur wifi
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel-Amael View Post
    Try it and then let us know.
    Mod Edit: **** me if it did :P

    it worked to install and all. but after i did a reload window management, **** froze. so this isnt 100% on r2 version
    Last edited by sickness; 12-08-2010 at 01:47 PM.

  2. #22
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St. Paul, MN USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mafaioz View Post
    Mod Edit: **** me if it did :P

    it worked to install and all. but after i did a reload window management, **** froze. so this isnt 100% on r2 version
    Same result with R2

  3. #23
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Hi all, my first post

    R2 here and everything worked fine, did you install graphic drivers before this?

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    I tried the adding to the startup with editing the rc.local file, but yet this still isn't allowing compiz to start automatically upon start-up. Any suggestions?

  5. #25
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Not here
    Posts
    5

    Default Respuesta: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    i have a little doubt, when i get into the reload windows manager
    my desktop turns blank, and nothing happens ˝.˝
    is it normal?
    what do i do?
    hope you could help me

  6. #26
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Respuesta: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Well as I said this guide was made for Backtrack 4 Final, it might require a few more tweaks
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  7. #27
    Junior Member 5cardcharlie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Is there a particular reason why this tutorial has people installing the gnome version of compiz and emerald instead of compiz-kde3 and emerald-kde3?

  8. #28
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Quote Originally Posted by Zerocool Djx View Post
    I tried the adding to the startup with editing the rc.local file, but yet this still isn't allowing compiz to start automatically upon start-up. Any suggestions?
    Try this:

    1. remove all of the entries from /etc/rc.local

    2. add a simple bash script to your ~/.kde3/Autostart directory.
    Code:
    root@bt~:# nano ~/.kde3/Autostart/start-compiz.sh
    Enter the following into the file then save it:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    fusion-icon &
    sleep 5
    emerald &
    3. change the permissions on the script
    Code:
    root@bt:# chmod 755 ~/.kde3/Autostart/start-compiz.sh
    fusion-icon should force load of compiz with all of the plugins
    both programs are sent to the background

    works for me with BT4 R2... good luck

  9. #29
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Quote Originally Posted by 5cardcharlie View Post
    Is there a particular reason why this tutorial has people installing the gnome version of compiz and emerald instead of compiz-kde3 and emerald-kde3?
    Can't answer definitively but if I had to guess, probably something about the kde3 version requiring updates to kde3 which might break some things in this distro.

  10. #30
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Hi I can't run compiz on R2 either. When I do that my screen turn black and crash. My graphic crad is intel gma 4500 do I need to install drivers?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Compize, emerald?
    By brawngp in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 03:56 PM
  2. Installing compiz-fusion and Emerald - ATI Radeon Mobility X700
    By innervision in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 06:18 PM
  3. compiz and the backtrack-nvidia package
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 08:45 PM
  4. HOWTO: Install Compiz-fusion and Emerald on hardrdrive install
    By toohxc in forum OLD BackTrack3 Howtos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 03:56 PM
  5. Can you use compiz+beryl in backtrack 2?
    By drakoth777 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 11:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •