Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

  1. #11
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    That PC in the picture runs Gentoo 64 bit Linux and is my home desktop and is still running today.

    My other main PC is my laptop which is my daily user. It is a Dell studio XPS 15 inch laptop with 2.6 quadcore processor, 8 gigs of ram, a 160 gig ssd, dual Nvidia 260m cards and runs WIndows 7 , lots of VM's incuding Backtrack and dual boots Ubuntu 10.04 with awesome window manger.

    I have various other servers and laptops laying around but I do not use Backtrack as my main OS.

    I also have my favorite machine: Password Crackers » The Tools Server gets a Fat Upgrade

  2. #12
    Senior Member lordplagueis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    That PC in the picture runs Gentoo 64 bit Linux and is my home desktop and is still running today.

    My other main PC is my laptop which is my daily user. It is a Dell studio XPS 15 inch laptop with 2.6 quadcore processor, 8 gigs of ram, a 160 gig ssd, dual Nvidia 260m cards and runs WIndows 7 , lots of VM's incuding Backtrack and dual boots Ubuntu 10.04 with awesome window manger.

    I have various other servers and laptops laying around but I do not use Backtrack as my main OS.

    I also have my favorite machine: Password Crackers » The Tools Server gets a Fat Upgrade
    lol I never would have guessed you smoke newports
    HP DV7
    8GB DDR3
    Core i7-720QM
    Nvidia GeForce GT 320M

    BT5-64bit x WIN7-64bit DualBoot

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    As soon as i do 'Reset Window Manager' my screen just goes white! WTH

  4. #14
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Well do you have your graphic drivers installed, give us some details what card you have, did you search on google etc.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    I have to manually turn on compiz every time... how do I set it to load on startup?

  6. #16
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Read my tutorial again, you will see how.
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    It is really good tut.

    Thks

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Hi, so I followed what you said and everytime I switch over to compiz as my window manager, everything on my screen inverts. All the menus, everything, it's all inverted. It used to work fine a long time ago, but it seems like some update to BT may have messed it up? I researched it a while back and read that it might have had something to do with some python update? Anyone that can shed some light on the situation? Im not that concerned as i dont NEED compiz, but it does add a little something nice. Thanks in advance for any help!

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO Mafaioz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Behind you...sniffing ur wifi
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    would this work in R2 ?

  10. #20
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Installing Compiz and Emerald in Backtrack.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mafaioz View Post
    would this work in R2 ?
    Try it and then let us know.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Compize, emerald?
    By brawngp in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 03:56 PM
  2. Installing compiz-fusion and Emerald - ATI Radeon Mobility X700
    By innervision in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 06:18 PM
  3. compiz and the backtrack-nvidia package
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 08:45 PM
  4. HOWTO: Install Compiz-fusion and Emerald on hardrdrive install
    By toohxc in forum OLD BackTrack3 Howtos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 03:56 PM
  5. Can you use compiz+beryl in backtrack 2?
    By drakoth777 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 11:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •