Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: cannot connect WPA2

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default cannot connect WPA2

    here is my wpa_supplicant.conf file

    network={
    ssid="DhiraaguADSL"
    psk=1234567890
    }

    now i run the command
    wpa_supplicant -B -i wlan1 -Dwext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

    now i get error
    Line 3: Invalid PSK '1234567890'
    Line 3: failed to parse psk '1234567890'
    Line 4: WPA-PSK accepted for key management, but no PSK configured
    Line 4: failed to parse network block.
    Failed to read or parse configuration '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'

    im using BT4 Final and AWUS03H

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: cannot connect WPA2

    What if you use Wicd when cannecting to wireless networks. Its just so much easier.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: cannot connect WPA2

    i have changed the settings in AP, now it is WPA, TKIP, PSK

    wpa_supplicant.conf
    network={
    ssid="hospital 13"
    scan_ssid=1
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    psk="1234567890"
    }

    root@bt:~# wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
    Trying to associate with 00:1b:11:24:27:2e (SSID='hospital 10' freq=2437 MHz)
    Associated with 00:1b:11:24:27:2e
    WPA: Key negotiation completed with 00:1b:11:24:27:2e [PTK=TKIP GTK=TKIP]
    CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 00:1b:11:24:27:2e completed (auth) [id=0 id_str=]
    WPA: Group rekeying completed with 00:1b:11:24:27:2e [GTK=TKIP]
    WPA: Group rekeying completed with 00:1b:11:24:27:2e [GTK=TKIP]
    WPA: Group rekeying completed with 00:1b:11:24:27:2e [GTK=TKIP]
    ^CCTRL-EVENT-TERMINATING - signal 2 received
    ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: No such file or directory
    root@bt:~#

    when the command is running, i do get internet
    if i stop then connection gets lost.

    i have this problem when using WEP also
    its like every one minute the connection lost, then i have to give the command
    iwconfig wlan1 essid "test"

    any idea?
    i am using alfa awus036h wifi adaptor

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default Re: cannot connect WPA2

    Something like the below should work OK.
    make new file with the below entered and save as wpa_supplicant.conf, save to for instance /root/

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    ap_scan=1
    
    network={
    scan_ssid=1
    ssid="your_essid_here"
    proto=RSN
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP CCMP
    group=TKIP
    psk="your 1337 pa$$\/\/0rD here"
    }

    Start it up ;
    Code:
    wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c wpa_supplicant.conf
    in a seperate console start up dhclient ;
    Code:
    dhclient wlan0
    Interwebs should be working.
    Last edited by TAPE; 05-28-2010 at 10:06 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't figure out how to connect to WPA2-Enterprise network
    By carrot in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 03:13 AM
  2. IPW5100 WPA2-PSK TKIP+AES won't connect
    By Coyotl in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 01:03 AM
  3. command line or scripts to connect wep and wpa2 wireless
    By sheikh76 in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-16-2009, 10:23 AM
  4. -=Xploitz=- TUTORIAL: E-Z Connect To WPA2 AES
    By -=Xploitz=- in forum OLD Tutorials and Guides
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-03-2008, 05:31 PM
  5. -=Xploitz=- TUTORIAL: E-Z Connect To WPA2 Personal WithTKIP+AES
    By -=Xploitz=- in forum OLD Tutorials and Guides
    Replies: 85
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •