Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    Question Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

    Hi,

    For some reason,I can hack into my laptop with metasploit (in vmware).But I fail if I try to hack Windows xp sp2 UNUPDATED (which means it's pretty easy to hack)...But i keep getting this error: Exploit completed, but no session was created.I tried the same steps (just to be sure) to hack my XP (my laptop) and it was successful.

    My question is,Can you hack another maching running in VMware with backtrack running also in a VMware?If it's possible,what did i do wrong?Does it have to do with setting up the "Network adapter" (i chose Bridged)?

    Kind regards,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

    There are a lot of reasons and or possibilities that it could have failed.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Liuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

    Can you hack another maching running in VMware with backtrack running also in a VMware?
    Yes, you can.

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default Re: Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

    As long as the machines are on the same subnet it shouldn't matter.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

    Thanks for you replies.

    I found the problem.It was Windows FIREWALL i disabled it and i was able to hack.For some reason,I have eset smart security in my laptop but it didn't block anything.I guess i should switch for a new firewall,any recommendations?

    Thanks again.

    regards,

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Hacking in Virtual machine another virtual maching?

    Make sure your VM's are on a "team" together and they are both on the same vLan. Also as purehate mentioned, make sure they are on the same subnet. If you can ping one VM from another then you should be good but if your pings are timing out then you need to spend some time learning how to network with VMWare.

Similar Threads

  1. BT4-PreFinal as a Virtual Machine
    By Dr_IDE in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Working Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 08:54 PM
  2. BT 4 Beta Virtual machine
    By music5_5 in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 09:30 PM
  3. Creating a Knoppix virtual machine?
    By saitek12300 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-05-2008, 04:15 AM
  4. airolib-ng in a virtual machine
    By jkroeder in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 01:29 PM
  5. Running in Virtual Machine
    By Fishbones in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 05:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •