Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: cant get my card to go into monitor mode

  1. #21
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kimbell
    Does iwpriv eth1 list monitor mode? I think you should roll back your firmware for better support.
    No it does not.

    How do I roll back firmware, and to which?

    Is my only option to get everything I want out of BT to get a Prism2 card?

    Oh, and I also have a Broadcom built in wireless card (HP dv4000 laptop) would this work?

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeegro
    No it does not.

    How do I roll back firmware, and to which?

    Is my only option to get everything I want out of BT to get a Prism2 card?

    Oh, and I also have a Broadcom built in wireless card (HP dv4000 laptop) would this work?
    Look to my previous post for an alternative. The hermes chipset does not support packet injection/deauth (ie aireplay). The broadcom driver project seems to be comming along in those areas though.

  3. #23
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Ok im following the linuxquestions.org tutorial and im confused with this command
    cp *.ko /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers/net/wireless

    There are no .ko files in the directory i created... do you know what i change in this command?

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeegro
    Ok im following the linuxquestions.org tutorial and im confused with this command
    cp *.ko /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers/net/wireless

    There are no .ko files in the directory i created... do you know what i change in this command?
    Did your make, make install finnish without errors?

  5. #25
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    make[2]: *** [/root/Desktop/Downloads/orinoco-0.13e-SN-5/orinoco_plx.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/root/Desktop/Downloads/orinoco-0.13e-SN-5] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.12.2'
    make: *** [modules] Error 2

    those are the last few strings.

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeegro
    make[2]: *** [/root/Desktop/Downloads/orinoco-0.13e-SN-5/orinoco_plx.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/root/Desktop/Downloads/orinoco-0.13e-SN-5] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.12.2'
    make: *** [modules] Error 2

    those are the last few strings.
    I would start by makeing sure my kernel source is ready...
    cd /usr/src/linux
    make cloneconfig
    make prepare
    Then I would untar the driver in /usr/src and build them from there.

  7. #27
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kimbell
    I would start by makeing sure my kernel source is ready... cd /usr/src/linux make cloneconfig make prepare Then I would untar the driver in /usr/src and build them from there.
    make cloneconfig:
    make[1]: *** No rule to make target `cloneconfig'.
    Stop. make: *** [cloneconfig] Error 2
    make prepare worked fine

    Well im out for the night, be back tomorrow and we can continue

    thanks for helping

  8. #28
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    darn have the same problem... nowhere a sollution to be found

    With my senao 2511 i have performance problems but now with my orinoco gold card i can find lots of wifi networks but can get my card into monitor mode :S and it is been seen as eth1 :S




    Nobody got this problem solved yet?

    I am not a linux guru but i can try everything as long it is writen down

  9. #29
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    ok i have the same netgear ma111 as in the user in the first post and im usind auditor..i tryed the #airmon.sh start wlan0 and i guess that worked because i didnt get any error message
    then when i input
    iwconfig wlan0 channel and the channel number
    i get this message
    error for wireless request "set frequency" 8B84 (i think)
    Set failed on device wlan0; operation not supported.

    P.S. im using auditor because my laptop doesnt support the use of backtrack

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Very strange...

    I have a DWL G650 Dlink card...with atheros chip set

    Couldn't get him into monitor but when I did : airmon-ng wifi0 start or something like that it worked but I suddenly got a Ath0 and Ath1 with 1 in management mode and one in monitor mode.

    Must be something wrong there...

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •