Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: cant get my card to go into monitor mode

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default cant get my card to go into monitor mode

    ok im geting a weird msg and stuff and to be honest no idea wtf it means spo any help would be great . im a noob wit linux and stuff but neways here is the deal. i type " root@slax: iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor"then it says "Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) : SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not supoorted ....


    Ok so basically i need help getin over this hump cuz i an get my card to set on monitor .. im wondering y this doesnt work cuz wen i type iwconfig the wlan0 is there

    wlan0 : IEEE 802.11-DS ESSID : " "
    Mode : Auto Channel : 0 Access Point : 00:00:00:00:00
    Bit Rate :2Mb/s Tx-Power ; dBm
    Retry min limit: 8 RTS thr: off Fragmnet thr: off
    Encryption key : off
    Link Quality : 0/92 Signal level : -69dBm Noise level : 90dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag;0
    Tx excessive retrties:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    Ne type of help would work

    Im running on a AMD 64 3000+ ( Newcastle Core )
    512 pc 3200 kingston memory
    Tri Booting : XP pro , Suse Linux 10, BackTrack
    my wireless card is a Netgear ma111 ( prism 2)


    thnx for whoeva helps me ,

    kilasin

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    try #airmon.sh start wlan0

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thnx ya that helped in airmon.sh helped in enabled monitorin so now im tryin to figure out how i can attack things to get packets movin hehe but ya this helped thnx man

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Yea I'm have the same problem I will give that a try the #airmon.sh start wlan0, but my card also shows up as wifi0 also. Kismet seems to work fine. Airodump on the other hand when I start it, it's like it's froze just that shell, or lookin for AP's it does nothing but display the information across the top, BSSID, DATA, CH. etc. I would really apreciate it if somebody could help me with that, hopefully this command will help I'ma give that a try now.

    AMD 64 3000+
    512
    DWL-650 rev. P also
    Senao NL 2511 CD Plus ext2 (same issue)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default :(

    Yea I tried that "#airmon.sh start wlan0" it didn't work. I tried it in Auditor with no success, I guess that script isn't even in Auditor. Then I tried in BackTrack, but forgot BT doesn't even recognize either card the DWL-650, or the Senao 2511.

    Umm I've read articles about getting card's working in these live distro's. Is there a way though to do so without a HD install?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I have a Senao NL 2511 CD Plus ext2

    I fire up B|T (live or HD-install)
    airmon.sh > shows available cards
    airmon.sh start wlan0 <channel>
    card gets set to monitor mode

    Why don't you try 2 different things..

    switch-to-wlanng, eject, insert
    airmon.sh start wlan0 <ch>

    or

    switch-to-hostap, eject, insert
    iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor
    iwconfig channel XX
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    something like that, may have to look around for how to manually set card to monitor mode

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default

    airmon.sh start wlan0 <ch#> results are

    a directory location then below Interface, Chipset, etc. but the information is blank like it didn't detect the card.

    Tried both with my Senao NL-2511 and my DWL-650 rev. P I also tried

    switch-to-hostap, ejcect, insert
    switch-to-wlanng, eject, insert

    both gave the same result runnning iwconfig

    lo no wireless extensions

    eth0 no wireless extensions

    eth1 no wireless extensions

    sit0 no wirless extensions

    I would really like to get at least 1 card working running off live CD and definitely supporting packet injection and Mass deauthentication.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Post you lspci for us to look at please.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    75

    Default lspci Senao

    This is what I get with the Senao card



    root@slax:~# lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Host Bridge (rev a4)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 LPC Bridge (rev a6)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce3 SMBus (rev a4)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
    00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 2.0 (rev a2)
    00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Audio (rev a2)
    00:06.1 Modem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 00d9 (rev a2)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce3 IDE (rev a5)
    00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 AGP Bridge (rev a4)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 440 Go 64M] (rev a3)
    02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB21 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
    02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    02:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g (rev 03)
    02:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments: Unknown device ac54 (rev 01)
    02:04.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments: Unknown device ac54 (rev 01)
    02:04.2 System peripheral: Texas Instruments: Unknown device 8201 (rev 01)
    root@slax:~#



    And this is what I get with the DWL-650



    root@slax:~# lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Host Bridge (rev a4)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 LPC Bridge (rev a6)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce3 SMBus (rev a4)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 1.1 (rev a5)
    00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 USB 2.0 (rev a2)
    00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce3 Audio (rev a2)
    00:06.1 Modem: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 00d9 (rev a2)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce3 IDE (rev a5)
    00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
    00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 AGP Bridge (rev a4)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 NorthBridge
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 440 Go 64M] (rev a3)
    02:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB21 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
    02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    02:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g (rev 03)
    02:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments: Unknown device ac54 (rev 01)
    02:04.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments: Unknown device ac54 (rev 01)
    02:04.2 System peripheral: Texas Instruments: Unknown device 8201 (rev 01)
    root@slax:~#

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Looks like it is the card bus that is giving you a problem. You could try what is mentioned in this link.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •