Thread: Slow packet collection

Just burned his ISO

Default Slow packet collection

Hello! I'm quite new to backtrack4 and linux, and I am trying to crack my WEP network - but I am collecting data packets FAR too slow. If somone could tell me what I am doing wrong, it would be very kind.

Here's what I did:

First, I changed my wireless card's mac address randomly. Then I started dumping to a file with airodump-ng (obviously, I specified the network's channel and BSSID). Then, while it was still dumping, I started various attacks, namely injection and fragmentation, and also FakeAuth. Whichever I tried, it made almost no difference in the number of packets coming in. It is very frustrating. After 15 minutes, I got about a 100 data packets. After 1 hour, I got a nice total of ZERO ARPs.

I tried an the injection test with aireplay, and it said it was working. 95%

At this rate, I would never crack it while I am still alive! And yet its supposed to be easy. I am very frustrated. Should I buy another wifi card and try it out? Thanks in advance!

Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar

Default Re: Slow packet collection

Why would you need to change your mac address to a random one?

Just burned his ISO

I didn't. I was following a guide, like I said I am quite new. Anyway, I was testing things out to see if it works... It said if your card doesnt support chaging the mac address then most probably it isnt supported. Well - I wanted to make it a point that it is capable of doing it.

So, to conclude, my card is "supported", and yet packet injection stays at 0pps (even though when I run the aireplay test it says it works), and packet collection is too slow.
    Moreover, I cant use mon0, only wlan0. Does this have anything to do with it? airodump-ng mon0 doesn't work for me.

Do you know if I am doing something wrong? Ill post my card's name and the commands I when I get home.

Perhaps there isn't enough traffic. l assume this is your rig, so you'd be close enough.