Thread: local network Anonymity

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Question local network Anonymity

ok what i am trying to do is boot from usb inside windows <easy:done> next i want to leave no tracks on the host <easy:done:sandbox> then i want to connect to my home pc while hiding all traffic from host and local ap's while i use it in some cases depending on were i use it i will be going thru a firewall <ie:school firewall proxy> i dont want anyone except me to know what I'm doing <network monitor:wire shark> <not that its illegal i just like privacy> so my idea is portable vbox with 2 vdi's on usb >> bt4 with local proxy >> ssh to second vbox >> second vbox is a linux firewall <ie:zeroshell> >> forward all ports to 56 <xerox> or something <to hide protocol <ie:https> from ids for encryption> >> vpn to my home pc and browse the web and access my media? not sure if i'm way off or not I am still a noob to advanced networking
    any ideas would help cause i think i'm way off i overthink everything

Default Re: local network Anonymity

Its likely that you have given up all rights to private use of your schools network as part of its conditions of use. This certainly applies in most privately owned networks, including the one where I work. In my position as the IT Security Advisor at my office Id be... upset... if I found someone trying to secretly tunnel data out of my network. "Get a person fired" upset. Just so you know that what you're doing may bite you in the ass.

Some comments:

If the network administrators know what they are doing, you will never be able to hide completely. Decent encryption may hide the details of what you are doing, but it wont hide the fact that you are doing something - the encrypted channel can still be noticed, even if the contents of the transmission cannot, and this may be enough on its own to arouse suspicion.