Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Problem with RT2870 network card

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Problem with RT2870 network card

    i've downloaded and compiled drivers, installed driver, edited /etc/networking/interfaces
    and the card on the surface appears to work, blinking lights and responds when you load or unload the driver. here is the output from my ifconfig/iwconfig

    Dlink DWA-140 OR ralink 2870
    ra0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:91:7e:d8:1f
    inet6 addr: fe80::221:91ff:fe7e:d81f/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:14189 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1321 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1245280 (1.2 MB) TX bytes:106120 (106.1 KB)

    ra0 Ralink STA ESSID:"" Nickname:"RT2870STA"
    Mode:Auto Frequency=2.412 GHz Bit Rate=1 Mb/s
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=10/100 Signal level:0 dBm Noise level:-87 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    everything appears to function, even detects my local wireles access point, but on "obtaining IP address" the lights on the card stop blinking and the app doesnt connect. (i know the RA2870 is a horrible card for linux, but i've almost got it working) just not sure where to go from here

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problem with RT2870 network card

    lsusb shows my device however when i use the command
    modprobe rt2870sta
    i get a blank line, no information reguarding my device but it also does not tell me the device is not present either. just some further info if it helps

  3. #3
    Junior Member WolverineOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Infront of Screen
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Problem with RT2870 network card

    Yeah i was looking at buying a RT2780 card. But after a bit of digging i decided against it because of how badly supported it is on Linux. Check this thread though, He says hes got it working, maybe he can help you. http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...50nh-bt4f.html

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Problem with RT2870 network card

    have you tried this? [ubuntu] HOWTO: Ralink rt2870 (Native) Kernel 2.6.24 - Ubuntu Forums
    i know that the kernels are different but i don't think that should matter

    i know alot of people are having problems with this chipset, since i don't have one i can only speculate, but i'm going to try to buy one later this week to see if i can get everything up and working on it
    open source = open minds, human knowledge belongs to the world

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO masokis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Problem with RT2870 network card

    me too.. it working great under backtrack3... u can see it here:
    MASOKIS

    but in bt4, i got major problem about this chipset..

Similar Threads

  1. Can someone help me with my network card?
    By tiger33 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 05:39 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 08:09 AM
  3. A problem wis my network card
    By ziegler_md5 in forum OLD Bt4beta Non-Working Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 02:12 AM
  4. Network card problem(ethernet)
    By milosh.obilic in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-21-2007, 01:38 PM
  5. Network card
    By Aldau in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-23-2007, 01:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •