Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Ubiquity giving error " 'module' object has no attribute 'IterableUserDict'"

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Ubiquity giving error " 'module' object has no attribute 'IterableUserDict'"

    Hi

    I am using Backtrack 4 final and wanted to install on my HDD.
    I am having HP Dv5t laptop with vista as Primary OS.
    I have downloaded the .iso and have burned it on dvd.
    After live booting whenever I click install.sh , I get following error trace

    root@bt:~# ./install.sh
    'import site' failed; use -v for traceback
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/bin/ubiquity", line 7, in <module>
    import os
    File "/usr/lib/python2.5/os.py", line 469, in <module>
    class _Environ(UserDict.IterableUserDict):
    AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'IterableUserDict'
    root@bt:~#


    My harddisk is 250 GB and I want to use 20GB for BT , used from shirnking volume on vista.

    I have tried searching on BT forum and on google but was not able to resolve it.
    Has anyone seen this problem ??
    How do I get past it ?
    Is there any way to do a manual install .
    Last edited by cool_vip; 05-22-2010 at 03:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Ubiquity giving error " 'module' object has no attribute 'IterableUserDict'"

    Probably not a bug, since this is the first it has been reported.
    However check the forum faq section for more info on m55sum creating an install etc. to ensure you are on the "up and up" on your end.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Ubiquity giving error " 'module' object has no attribute 'IterableUserDict'"

    Yup.. its no error..
    I just checked and size of ISO was exact the same but the md5 check sum was incorrect..
    I verified only size after download.
    I downloaded again and verified the correct checksum ..Now things are working fine and I am able to install it on my HDD.

    Thanks for pointing out the checksum

Similar Threads

  1. Silly question: Where are "home" and "system" icons ?
    By fjecp in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 08:57 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2008, 05:44 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-20-2008, 07:44 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 08:25 PM
  5. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 03:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •