Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO UnknownBug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    Smile Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    Hi there,

    I am having a slight issue picking up the BSSID of my home network, which I would like to initiate common security penetration techniques on. I am using BT4 from a livecd, although, BT3 from a livecd also is fine. This is what has caused my curiosity to what the issue could be, and of course, I would not want to be using an old revision of BT for something that may be a simple hardware configuration mismatch.

    My notebook has the RTL8180/RTL8185 chipset.
    I have included an image of the issue, that occurs when I execute 'airodump-ng x' (x = interface, of course)

    *picture deleted because it was to big*

    Rectified the above issue, I was convinced there was an automatic image resizing plugin on the board.


    Thanks for any support you may be able to provide regarding this issue, and thank you for the great toolkit that is BT.

    Regards,
    Unknown
    Last edited by UnknownBug; 05-10-2010 at 01:02 AM.

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    How is your network card configured?
    Do you ever see any wireless networks?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO UnknownBug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    I do in BT3, although in BT4, this is a complete new matter.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    Quote Originally Posted by UnknownBug View Post
    I do in BT3, although in BT4, this is a complete new matter.
    lspci or lsusb along with your full commands would be nice.

  5. #5
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    Quote Originally Posted by UnknownBug View Post
    I do in BT3, although in BT4, this is a complete new matter.
    Congrats! Now if you could just answer and questions and provide the information people have asked for then perhaps we could actually get somewhere.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    My first guess is that your access point is set not to send out beacon frames. As Archangel-Amael, it would also be helpful to see what response you get when you run these commands:
    Code:
    lspci
    lsusb
    iwconfig
    ifconfig

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO UnknownBug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    Quote Originally Posted by Virchanza View Post
    Code:
    lspci
    lsusb
    iwconfig
    ifconfig
    lspci: lots of hardware info, anything needed in specific?
    lsusb: http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/4448/photo0096h.jpg
    iwconfig: http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/4337/photo0097nz.jpg
    ifconfig: http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/4958/photo0098a.jpg

    Sorry for the prolonged reply.
    Last edited by UnknownBug; 05-11-2010 at 08:10 PM.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    Yeah, you can take pictures mate or you could just copy and paste, the later is a bit faster and well, you won't need the camera.
    Also, the output is needed so that we can help determine a few things, one of those being your ability to (at a minimum) follow directions. In addition to finding out if you have any adapters recognized by the system. As it appears to me you don't have a card that is recognized. Also you posted the same picture twice above.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO incredible's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Somewhere on earth
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Can u please let us know which command exactly you type?

    Maybe you made an mistake when u typed in....

    Let us to know and we'll try to help you.

    And please can u type command
    Code:
    iwconfig
    and tell us which commands you exactly typed?
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 05-17-2010 at 09:48 AM.

  10. #10
    Very good friend of the forum Virchanza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    863

    Default Re: Issue regarding picking up my BSSID

    First thing I notice is that your card showed up when you do "iwconfig", but not when you did "ifconfig". Looks like you need to enable your wireless card:

    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    If that works, then the next time you do "ifconfig", it should show wlan0.

Similar Threads

  1. EEEPC 900HA, Wifi and Ethernet not picking up internet
    By Epidemic in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-09-2009, 07:08 AM
  2. Backtrack not picking up wireless card!!
    By djrikstar in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 11:22 AM
  3. No such BSSid available ???
    By 4dooo in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 12:50 PM
  4. No such BSSID available.
    By coubury in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 03:00 PM
  5. Aireplay not picking up any useful packets....
    By jason_V2 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-06-2007, 02:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •