Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What do these errors mean?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Chicago / India
    Posts
    9

    Default What do these errors mean?

    Recently - when I open up my meta-exploit on BT, and I create a - anything really- and i send it to the victim, using my brothers old computer, nothing happens on my BT screen.

    Ex: I send a fake website link - I open the file - on my Konsole i type in exploit, to start the exploit - and this is what I'm given :
    Code:
    msf exploit(handler) > exploit
    
    [-] Handler failed to bind to 20.20.20.103:4444
    [-] Handler failed to bind to 0.0.0.0:4444
    [-] Exploit failed: The address is already in use (0.0.0.0:4444).[*] Exploit completed, but no session was created.
    Does it have something to do with my internet? Or my router? Or is a port or something just not working. I don't think its my attack?
    *My brothers old laptop(the victim) is connected to the same wifi connection as the attacking machine(my laptop).

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: What do these errors mean?

    Wow someone needs to take some internetworking and metasploit 101 kind of classes.

    LPORT is set to 4444, you already have something listening on 4444 (likely you tried another exploit which used 4444 and is still listening for a connection). Just set LPORT to something other than 4444.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Chicago / India
    Posts
    9

    Cool

    Lol :P I'm learning man - I'm learning! I got it now, thanks

    Erm - Nvm. Nope - it still doesn't work - no matter what Port number I put in! No-offense - but I do know some basics, maybe not all - but I'm learnin'.

    Nope - Didn't work... No matter what port I put in.

    *PS - Why do the "mods" always have to approve a reply - very annoying sometimes...
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 05-14-2010 at 07:00 PM.

  4. #4
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: What do these errors mean?

    What was your LHOST value?

    PS - Why do the "mods" always have to approve a reply - very annoying sometimes...
    This was covered in the information you encountered when you registered, it is also covered by a number of sticky posts in the forums.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member voidnecron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: What do these errors mean?

    Do a netstat to see if the port is indeed free or listening.
    Code:
    netstat -na
    You can narrow it down with a grep.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: What do these errors mean?

    [QUOTE=
    *My brothers old laptop(the victim) is connected to the same wifi connection as the attacking machine(my laptop).[/QUOTE]

    if your "brothers(victim)" laptop is in the same wifi connection, it should also have an ip address like this eh? 20.20.20.xxx, just like the local host (your ip: 20.20.20.103)

    i have a question for you, why isn't your local network ip range like 192.168.x.x??? and how come you have the same ip address as Computer Sciences Corporation, Falls Church, USA? i'm a bit confused, because even if your intention was to attack a system other than your "brothers'", why would you need to set LHOST with a public IP address since you have mentioned that both systems are in the same wifi network??

Similar Threads

  1. sslstrip errors
    By Deviant Socket in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 05:58 PM
  2. apt-get errors on two computers
    By Sisith in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 09:44 PM
  3. Dell Latitude D531 boot errors. (media errors)
    By Dutch in forum OLD BackTrack 4 NON working hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 05:54 PM
  4. initramfs errors
    By seamus_0 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2009, 01:14 PM
  5. [HELP] HP WIFI Errors
    By Ziink in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-30-2008, 04:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •