Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO kirbuchi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

    Hi everyone,
    I was trying to compile Kontroller Lab and got the following error when running the ./configure script

    Code:
    checking for KDE... configure: error:
    in the prefix, you've chosen, are no KDE headers installed. This will fail.
    So, check this please and use another prefix!
    I figured it was because i didn't have the dev tools so i tried to install kdelibs-dev from the repositories and got the following broken package error.

    Code:
    apt-get install kdelibs-dev
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Note, selecting kdelibs4-dev instead of kdelibs-dev
    Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
    requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
    distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
    or been moved out of Incoming.
    
    Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
    the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
    that package should be filed.
    The following information may help to resolve the situation:
    
    The following packages have unmet dependencies:
      kdelibs4-dev: Depends: kdelibs4c2a (= 4:3.5.10-0ubuntu6.2) but 4:3.5.100~0ubuntu1 is to be installed
                    Depends: libarts1-dev (>= 1.5.0) but it is not going to be installed
    E: Broken packages
    I also tried installing kdelibs4-dev and got a similar error. I'm not sure if installing kdelibs5-dev is a good idea because afaik it's for KDE4. If I try to do that, it tries to install lots of dependencies and I have a feeling I'll break things.

    Note: I've found a .deb for Kontroller Lab but still think it would be very helpful to be able to compile KDE apps.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Malko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portugal, Porto
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

    Im getting same error, but in installing kvpnc ;S

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

    Well I don't know why you are trying to install kde4 packages when BT4 uses kde3.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Malko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Portugal, Porto
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

    I solved by problem by this way:

    1st removed some packages that was causing dependencis
    apt-get remove "pack"

    them I used:
    Code:
    aptitude install ...
    instead of
    Code:
    apt-get instal ...
    hope it will work for you 2

  5. #5
    r083rt
    Guest

    Default Re: Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

    http://www.n00bsonubuntu.net/content/ubucleaner/

    handy little script to cleanup ,update and remove broken and or packages not needed

  6. #6
    Member fightclub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    On some rock in the Milky Way
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: Kdelibs-dev, kdelibs4-dev broken packages

    I treid the ubucleaner but before that the pakages weren't broken but I tried it anyways. I did try the aptitude install instead of apt-get install and that worked for me to.
    Code:
    root@bt~# aptitude install kdelibs4-dev
    I didn't even have to "apt-get remove pakage", and to my surpize it started to work. So thank you Malko, for the grate advice.


    UPDATE: This can mess up your installation. I don't cry to get help but it was funny to see my Box get screwed up. I wouldn't recomend this unless you just like fooling around like I do. It still does work but it messed up my Konsole and other things. I had to reinstall BackTrack, wich was plainless for me but I do not recomend. The reason I needed this dependency was because of eye candy, and it was something to do. I wanted to install a theme manager, and it needed this dependency. But with that said risk this if you don't mind messing up your BackTrack box.
    Last edited by fightclub; 02-11-2011 at 04:21 PM. Reason: update on my info
    Reading is the first step to education, critical thinking is a whole 'nother matter

Similar Threads

  1. RPM Packages
    By ReiDC0Re in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 09:56 PM
  2. k3b install ,E: Broken packages
    By loop4me in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Software Related Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2009, 12:25 PM
  3. bug - updating kdelibs creates error!!!
    By thont in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-2008, 09:07 AM
  4. some request (BT packages LIST and BT packages archive)
    By 3segfault in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-04-2008, 09:43 AM
  5. packages pb
    By shamanvirtuel in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 02:16 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •