Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    79

    Default No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

    When I start networking it appears that I do not get an address.

    Here is the out put when I type in /etc/init.d/networking start

    Code:
    Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:(the rest being the rest of my wireless NIC's MAC)
    Sending on LPF/wlan0/00:(again my MAC)
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 5
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 15
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 15
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    done.
    the same happens to my Ethernet interface eth0. Also WICD manager will not start unless i run /etc/init.d/wicd start in the terminal (meaning it will not start if I go to Internet > WICD and start it like that when in the GUI) and then I can the the Internet > WICD and it starts right up. But the most confusing is that I can still connect to networks and surf the web. Now I saw this screenshot which is the source of my confusion.
    http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_pnSE5Kp5qc...0-h/startx.gif


    if I run it again it says
    Code:
    Configuring network interfaces...Done.
    So I know that I get an IP address by DHCP on my router and am able to surf but am I supposed to get one when I start networking too like in the picture?
    If someone can shed some light on this that would be great. Thank you
    pureh@te said: Our goal is to be a fearsome pentest distro not a windows replacement OS where we are trying to convert the world to Linux.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Liuser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

    Have you attempted "dhclient [interface]" yet?

  3. #3
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

    Search the forum. This question has been answered a million times.

    Five hundred thousand times by me... thus the reason why I've "disappeared" from these forums.
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

    Quote Originally Posted by Encrypted_Soldier View Post
    When I start networking it appears that I do not get an address.
    click K-Menu > Services > Network > Start
    PS: nothing will appear.
    next:
    click K-Menu > Internet > Wicd Network Manager.

    i guess from there on, you should be able to do it.

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

    for some reason i really don't surf the internet too much on my bt4, but if thats your thing try to get used to doing it from the command line.
    By the way you should really update that thing to the final release, its better.
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: No DHCP, no address? What is going on?

    Yes it appears that I have to start WICD manually and that's no problem, also I am using BT4 final, I just found the picture on google. I'm just confused about DHCP although when I get home I will try Dhclient and post the results.
    pureh@te said: Our goal is to be a fearsome pentest distro not a windows replacement OS where we are trying to convert the world to Linux.

Similar Threads

  1. DHCP not resolving proper address
    By oakdog8 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 09:53 AM
  2. Finding IP address without DHCP
    By Warwulf in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 05:54 AM
  3. Dhcp
    By lewench in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-15-2009, 04:50 AM
  4. Replies: 52
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 05:53 PM
  5. dhcp help please
    By parrotface in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2008, 10:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •