Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to Hibernate/suspend on BT4 final HDD install ?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default How to Hibernate/suspend on BT4 final HDD install ?

    Hello guys,

    Certainly a very stupid newbee question, but any ideas what to do to hibernate/supend a BT4 final HDD install ?

    I cannot find the option to do this, i tried installing "hibernate" with no success, so any help would be highly appreciable

    Thanks in advance
    Ulrick13

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am actually looking for this same answer. I have learned that I can hibernate my non-root user logins.

    However, I would like to be able to hibernate my root login as well. Any help?

    In the task tray, or whatever it would be called in *nix, there is an image of either a power plug, or a battery. Right-click on this and you should have an option to Suspend to RAM, and also an option to Suspend to Disk. Suspend to Disk is equivalent to hibernate in Windows, and Suspend to RAM is equivalent to Standby in Windows.

    Cheers,

    @~
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 01-26-2011 at 04:35 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: How to Hibernate/suspend on BT4 final HDD install ?

    I was looking for this too, but I would like to know how to do this in the console ? I want to remotely start en shutdown over SSH and in order to use WakeonLan the PC must be in suspended mode right ?

  4. #4
    Junior Member lokschmidt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: How to Hibernate/suspend on BT4 final HDD install ?

    This topic was already covered, IIRC i stumbled upon the same scenario, try searching for:
    Code:
    pm-hibernate
    It's time to free yer Mind; It's time to cleanse yer Soul

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums gunrunr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    shining my spoon
    Posts
    265

    Default Re: How to Hibernate/suspend on BT4 final HDD install ?

    noob questions aside, Backtrack and many other linux releases are the same for the most part. The commands are mostly the same so feel free to check out some of the less advanced forums or wiki's as well such as http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=326 or http://fosswire.com/post/2008/04/ubuntu-cheat-sheet/

    just remember that BT4 doesn't come with a user account by default because it isn't really made for beginners so be careful when typing in commands, a slip of the fingers could delete you OS or mess up your system irreparably
    Wielder of the spoon of doom
    Summercon, Toorcon, Defcon, Bsides, Derbycon, Shmoocon oh my
    Come hang out with hackers on twitter @gunrunr556

Similar Threads

  1. ACPI Suspend/Resume Problem
    By a.sheipani in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-01-2008, 08:41 AM
  2. BT3 suspend does not work? (VMware)
    By mrd0n in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-21-2008, 03:34 AM
  3. Hibernate - Suspend To Disk, Possible?
    By imported_dino9832 in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-01-2008, 07:47 PM
  4. Backtrack ACPI Suspend
    By DaveFromPeg in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 07:08 PM
  5. Hibernate in BackTrack2.0
    By dmytro in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2007, 02:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •