Thread: WPA cracking probelm

Just burned his ISO

Default WPA cracking probelm

Hello!
    I must say, I'm new to backtrack
    I work in the IT sector, in a company, to maintain a network so I want to learn about the attacks on wep and wpa/wpa2 keys and how to protect against attack?
    WEP key I understood how to crack, is quite simple and quick process, but I do not understand about WPA and WPA2 cracking.
    I read a lot about it, and I do not understand how to create and use precompiled hash and hach, in cowpatty.
    I found some torrents to download hash table, but which to download?
    Do I need to download the MD5 or some other table? Does the download of a Ranbow table or cowpatty table?
    So can you recommend some of the torrents.
    I found a torrent, 33 GB, will it work on my computer (4gb ram, C2D 2GHz ,...).? Thanks!

Default Re: WPA cracking probelm

The Aircrack suite may be a better option for starting out than going straight to using cowpatty, there is extensive documentation on the aircrack-ng website (Google) about how to go about this, and several links to papers about the downfalls of WPA/2. Id like to add that we hear alot of these stories here. And next time you might want to whip out your Google-Fu first and then come here with some questions after you've gained some background knowledge. We font spoon feed, but hopefully you can get yourself started now.

the best way to secure your network when using wpa-psk is to let the ap change keys every hour.... this way, the chances of a person trying to crack the key is quite small, since there are thousands of dictionary files to go around .... sometimes takes up to a week to crack one...

not sure bout the hash tables you mention here ... but i did have a positive experience by just changing the dictionary file you downloaded to dict2 dict3 etc, and then using the adress of them in cowpatty command in konsole ....

is this helpful ?