Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: WEP w/MAC filtering hacking on BT4

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO Mjolnir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Default WEP w/MAC filtering hacking on BT4

    Noobie here! Ok so I have a friends AP I am trying to get into (with his consent of course) and he has MAC filtering enabled on his AP. During my initial testing I was able to get into mine and his without MAC filtering enabled but now that it is I am not getting anywhere. Now I am assuming that what I need to do is spoof my MAC to look like an authorized one, basically watch the network traffic of that AP and then fake my MAC as one that connects to it, is this correct? Also I am doing the following cmd and checking the file it creates for any new station info but nothing is showing yet. Granted I do know hes at work right now so his PC might not even be on.

    airodump-ng -c 6 --bssid xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -w stuff mon0

    Now I do not know if he has any devices on and connected to this AP at this time so I am assuming that in order for me to see anything there would need to be a device on and connected to the device at the time I am looking at the traffic? Or am I just going about this wrong? Maybe there is a better way for me to check for an authorized MAC connecting to the AP?

    Thanks for any pointers!

    -Mjolnir

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: WEP w/MAC filtering hacking on BT4

    Quote Originally Posted by Mjolnir View Post
    Noobie here! Ok so I have a friends AP I am trying to get into (with his consent of course) and he has MAC filtering enabled on his AP. During my initial testing I was able to get into mine and his without MAC filtering enabled but now that it is I am not getting anywhere. Now I am assuming that what I need to do is spoof my MAC to look like an authorized one, basically watch the network traffic of that AP and then fake my MAC as one that connects to it, is this correct? Also I am doing the following cmd and checking the file it creates for any new station info but nothing is showing yet. Granted I do know hes at work right now so his PC might not even be on.

    airodump-ng -c 6 --bssid xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -w stuff mon0

    Now I do not know if he has any devices on and connected to this AP at this time so I am assuming that in order for me to see anything there would need to be a device on and connected to the device at the time I am looking at the traffic? Or am I just going about this wrong? Maybe there is a better way for me to check for an authorized MAC connecting to the AP?

    Thanks for any pointers!

    -Mjolnir


    We do not condone the " I am trying to get into my friend's, Grandmother's or Dog's AP/Network/Computer.
    I encourage you to re-read the rules you agreed to so as to prevent any infractions to your account.

Similar Threads

  1. mac filtering need help
    By Doomsday51225 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2009, 12:46 AM
  2. mac filtering
    By a-tom in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2008, 08:56 AM
  3. How to beat Mac Filtering
    By tototime in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 12:06 PM
  4. cracking wep with mac filtering
    By killswitch92 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 10-02-2007, 05:18 PM
  5. Got 0 ARP Requests = Mac filtering?
    By some1 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 01:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •