Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: multiple monitors on bt4

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO oneofthemany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    8

    Default multiple monitors on bt4

    i have read all threads so far about how to enable dual display on bt4, by using nvidia x, overclocking etc, but none of them work.

    does any of the moderators or senior staff know how to make this work

    help would be greatly appreciated


  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    the nvidia-settings gui tool will give you a option to enable multiple monitors after you get them detected by doing Xorg-configure or nvidia-xconfig

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO oneofthemany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    the nvidia-settings gui tool will give you a option to enable multiple monitors after you get them detected by doing Xorg-configure or nvidia-xconfig
    like i said i have done all that and nothing

    if it was as simple as just using the nvidia-settings and nvidia-x i would be there already

    this is what i get after i input nvidia settings:

    You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server.

    so then i run nvidia-xconfig:

    Using X configuration file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf".

    VALIDATION ERROR: Data incomplete in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.
    Device section "Configured Video Device" must have a Driver
    line.

    Backed up file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' as '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup'
    New X configuration file written to '/etc/X11/xorg.conf

    so then issue gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and look at inputing driver details with the "Configured Video Device".

    my xorg.conf reads like this:

    # nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
    # nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildd@palmer) Thu Jun 26 06:22:40 UTC 2008


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout0"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "Unknown"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 110.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 150.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    the question is what do i have to edit and what drivers do i have to use to make it work

    any help would be of benefit


  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    What nvidia card are you using?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    on my ubuntu machine rerunning the nvidia -xorg gives me some weird error so i usually either install the newest driver or reinstall the current one whenever a kernel update screws everything up. And it appears that you are not using the nvidia drivers therefore you are not getting your sesired reults just do what i said earlier in this post about instaling and you should be fine.*




    *results not guaranteed murphy's law always intervenes when it is not welcome.
    pureh@te said: Our goal is to be a fearsome pentest distro not a windows replacement OS where we are trying to convert the world to Linux.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO oneofthemany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    What nvidia card are you using?
    im not using an nvidia graphics card.

    i have an IBM R61i laptop with an Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset

    all i want to know is if its possible to have multiple screens using Backtrack as I can using Ubuntu 9.10

    thanks in advance


  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    i'm not great with linux but im pretty sure that using nvidia software /drivers to get multiple monitors working with an intel card won't work...

    i think youre barking up the wrong tree mate

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    Quote Originally Posted by oneofthemany View Post
    i have read all threads so far about how to enable dual display on bt4, by using nvidia x, overclocking etc, but none of them work.
    Quote Originally Posted by oneofthemany View Post
    im not using an nvidia graphics card.
    WTF! I mean seriously.

    Here's an idea, next time try being more specific about your problem!

  9. #9
    Member MosGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    Quote Originally Posted by oneofthemany View Post
    im not using an nvidia graphics card.

    i have an IBM R61i laptop with an Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset

    all i want to know is if its possible to have multiple screens using Backtrack as I can using Ubuntu 9.10

    thanks in advance

    Trying to use Nvidia on Intel graphics that's a new one . To answer your question yes it's possible. I run dual screens on my netbook with Intel graphics. Here's a hint: xrandr

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: multiple monitors on bt4

    Quote Originally Posted by oneofthemany View Post
    im not using an nvidia graphics card.

    i have an IBM R61i laptop with an Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset

    all i want to know is if its possible to have multiple screens using Backtrack as I can using Ubuntu 9.10

    thanks in advance

    Back the **** up! If you expect using drivers for a different video adapter chipset will make your multimonitor setup work, Backtrack really isn't the distribution for you.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. VMware error when attempting to use multiple monitors
    By whiskeypapa in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 01:01 PM
  2. Dual Monitors - xorg.conf
    By ekisner in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-10-2010, 04:53 AM
  3. MarkMonitor monitors my system
    By imported_madmanu in forum OLD Specialist Topics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 09:27 AM
  4. monitors in vmware
    By p3nt3st in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 08:29 AM
  5. Mutiple Monitors
    By calypso in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 05:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •