Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Question airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    I've been trying to get this to work but for some reason, it's not working for me. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated as I've searched high and low in my attempt to find the information on my own. Below, you will find what I've input and what I received when trying to run Airodump.

    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11bgn ESSID:"linksys" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:23:69:30:C19
    Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:32 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Power Managementmode:All packets received
    Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=-48 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    root@bt:~# airodump-ng eth1
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument

    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.
    I watched this video - to get the right idea but I'm hitting a wall for some reason.

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

    If it's any help, I'm using a new HP dv7-3186cl with an Intel chipset. I haven't a clue about how to find out anything about the wireless card, such as make and model. I'm connected to the net with BT4 [right now].
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-18-2010 at 09:08 AM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    Are you running backtrack 4 on a Virtual system such like VMWARE or Virtual Box? Those systems do not recognize internal hardware. You will need a USB adapter that is compatible with Bactrack IV and supports injection.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    This is what I come up with when I enter the airmon-ng command.

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Unknown wl

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    im fairly new to this but did you try

    airomon-ng start wlan1 (or wlan0, whichever comes up from airomon-ng)

    then

    airodump-ng mon1 (or mon0 whichever comes up from airodump-ng)

    thats what i done, mine is wlan0 so i use mon0 for the code

    maybe of some help or not

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    You got a hint in your post....
    ,,Make sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1,,

    eth1 is your wifi and it is connected to the network, working in Managed mode whilst for Airodump-ng it needs to be in Monitor mode. Run the command above. ( you may need to run ifconfig eth1 down)

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by *Raven_Rose* View Post
    You got a hint in your post....
    ,,Make sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1,,

    eth1 is your wifi and it is connected to the network, working in Managed mode whilst for Airodump-ng it needs to be in Monitor mode. Run the command above. ( you may need to run ifconfig eth1 down)

    For some reason, the posts I made after my initial post never appeared. I enabled it in monitor mode and it still gave me the same error.

    Quote Originally Posted by marthafocker View Post
    Are you running backtrack 4 on a Virtual system such like VMWARE or Virtual Box? Those systems do not recognize internal hardware. You will need a USB adapter that is compatible with Bactrack IV and supports injection.
    Neither, actually. I have installed BT4 on my HP dv7-3186cl laptop. When I run ifconfig eth1, this is what comes up:

    root@bt:~# ifconfig eth1
    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr f0:7b:cb:0f:47:76
    inet addr:192.168.1.116 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::f27b:cbff:fe0f:4776/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2923 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:1353
    TX packets:2935 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:2194229 (2.1 MB) TX bytes:470001 (470.0 KB)
    Interrupt:16

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start eth1


    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    7883 dhclient
    Process with PID 7883 (dhclient) is running on interface eth1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Unknown wl (monitor mode enabled)


    Quote Originally Posted by fintaneduffy View Post
    im fairly new to this but did you try "airomon-ng start wlan1" (or wlan0, whichever comes up from airomon-ng)

    then "airodump-ng mon1" (or mon0 whichever comes up from airodump-ng)

    thats what i done, mine is wlan0 so i use mon0 for the code

    maybe of some help or not
    Using wlan won't work because BT4 recognizes my wireless as being eth1 (ethernet1). I have tried everything I can think of and I've searched all over the web for a clue/hint on what to do but I've come up empty.

    Thanks for your input and assistance! Anymore ideas? LoL
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-19-2010 at 01:16 PM.

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    Quote Originally Posted by pedrazaa View Post
    I have the same problem any solution?
    Try replacing the airmon-ng command with
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 mode monitor
    see if that makes any difference. You may need to "ifconfig eth1 down" first.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    I have the same problem any solution? bt4 r1 live dvd:

    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:8 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementmode:All packets received
    Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=0 dBm Noise level=0 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng stop eth1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Broadcom wl (monitor mode disabled)

    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start eth1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Broadcom wl (monitor mode enabled)

    root@bt:~# airodump-ng eth1
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Invalid argument

    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth1 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    I did n't try it myself... but i found... iwconfig eth1 txpower off
    Maybe it works

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument

    Quote Originally Posted by N3TD3ViL View Post
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Unknown wl
    Chipset unknown: That should be your problem. Maybe your chipset doesn't support monitor mode?

    Quote Originally Posted by pedrazaa View Post
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start eth1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Broadcom wl (monitor mode enabled)
    I don't think you'll have any luck with this chipset. Broadcom chipsets are widely known not to work with monitor mode/injection (although there are some few exceptions).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with Bt4 pre release airodump-ng eth1
    By ~s4x5~ in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 10:03 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2009, 08:03 AM
  3. eth1 changes to eth0
    By EcKo in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 11:03 AM
  4. Can't bring eth1 down
    By renevanh in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 11:44 AM
  5. SIOCSIFFLAGS: invalid argument
    By cryptomole in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-25-2007, 10:48 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •