Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Installed VLC to stream music, locked up, now no sound

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Installed VLC to stream music, locked up, now no sound

    ^^ Updated - find my solution below in a reply post ^^

    I wanted to listen to tunes while I worked so I installed vlc (apt-get install vlc)
    It worked for a couple minutes then X froze.
    hit the front-panel reset, apt-get remove vlc, then used ktorrent to d'load some mp3's
    installed juk-kde3
    no sound
    removed juk-kde3, then autoremove'd (to clear last vestiges of vlc too)
    re-installed juk-kde3
    no sound
    checked my alsamixer, console and gui, no mutes, sliders maxed

    Much of the stuff at ubuntu forums is for gnome, or not kde3, or people who never had sound to begin with.
    My stuff all worked till I installed vlc

    Here's my lspci:

    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 01)
    00:02.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI-X Root Port
    00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:11.0 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 Serial ATA Controller (rev
     80)
    00:12.0 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 Serial ATA Controller (rev
     80)
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev
    80)
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller (rev
    80)
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller (rev
     80)
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 81)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller (rev 80)
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Contr
    oller (rev 01)
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge (rev 80)
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge (rev 80)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTra                                                              nsport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address                                                               Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Con                                                              troller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscella                                                              neous Control
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R430 [Radeon X800 (PCIE)                                                              ]
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc R430 [Radeon X800] (PCIE) (Seco                                                              ndary)
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit                                                               Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
    03:00.0 RAID bus controller: Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Con                                                              troller (rev 01)
    04:05.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139                                                              C+ (rev 10)
    04:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306 Fire II IEEE 1394 OH                                                              CI Link Layer Controller (rev 80)
    Like I said, everything was working, I just couldnt stream audio from SomaFM. I've mangled something.

    any ideas?
    Last edited by mayhem; 04-17-2010 at 08:17 PM. Reason: SOLVED

  2. #2

    Default Re: Installed VLC to stream music, locked up, now no sound

    check if your user-id is in the group audio

    Code:
    cat /etc/group |egrep -i audio
    /brtw2003

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: response to audio group memberships

    Quote Originally Posted by brtw2003 View Post
    check if your user-id is in the group audio

    Code:
    cat /etc/group |egrep -i audio
    /brtw2003

    here it is, I seem to remember manually adding root to the audio group when I first installed.


    Code:
    audio:x:29:root

    I determined that it is only mp3's that aren't playing. I can hear youtube videos. I tested the mp3's from Xubuntu 9.10 and the files are valid.

    This might be as simple as choosing the right mp3 player.

    I'm leery of following the "comprehensive multimedia guide" at the Ubuntu forums because it employs many "g" prefixed libraries and apps. I've messed things up pretty bad before (I installed Gnome without realizing it on Xubuntu), and somewhere in these FAQ's it's made clear that we can't use Gnome! Also, there is the matter of sticking with BT4 repositories. With that in mind, what sort of problems can you forsee in this command:

    Code:
     sudo apt-get remove gnash gnash-common libflashsupport mozilla-plugin-gnash swfdec-mozilla && sudo apt-get install alsa-oss faac faad flashplugin-nonfree gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly-multiverse gstreamer0.10-pitfdll libmp3lame0 non-free-codecs sun-java6-fonts sun-java6-jre sun-java6-plugin unrar

    Feeling my way along here . . .

    ^^ Update ^^
    I tried Amarok. Default was no support for mp3's, Responded 'yes' to dialog 'add mp3 support', No error, mp3 wouldn't play. It acted like it didn't know what to do with the file, but wouldn't tell me that. Like a dead button.
    Removed Amarok.
    Installed noatun-kde3
    Couldn't connect to the artsd engine, told me to configure artsd
    'configured' (fooled around with) artsd, still didn't work
    Removed noatun, and autoremove'd

    I came here to update this and couldn't remember exactly how I'd done something, so I reinstalled Amarok while editing this to double check and it works perfectly. I didn't even log off.
    Last edited by mayhem; 04-17-2010 at 08:11 PM. Reason: SOLVED by unknown forces

Similar Threads

  1. listen music in back track 4
    By vippro123 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 04:26 PM
  2. While coding or pentesting, what music do you listen to?
    By m0zzie in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-09-2009, 01:56 AM
  3. Locked out of my router...
    By gogofletch in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-15-2009, 03:00 PM
  4. USB with music on in BT2
    By buns234k in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 07:59 PM
  5. Using BT2 to download music off MySpace in 10 steps
    By tybalt in forum OLD Tutorials and Guides
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 10-21-2007, 07:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •