Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Unable to connect to wireless usb out of bridged mode in VMware

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Unable to connect to wireless usb out of bridged mode in VMware

    Hello forum,

    I have learned that this forum only helps individuals who help themselves.I'm going to show you all the steps I made to try to get this problem resolved via, google, back track 4 and linux forums.

    VMware
    Backtrack 4 Final
    Belkin USB Wireless F5D9050
    WRT54G IP address: 192.168.1.1 wpa2


    First Step I made was configure my wireless interfaces nano etc/network/interfaces

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    wireless-essid Bain's
    wireless-key lakers313
    Second step start networking etc/init.d/networking start
    Code:
    Configuring network interfaces...done.
    Third step ran a scan on my interface wlano iwlist wlan0 scan
    Code:
    wlan0     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:14:BF:E8:EB:FE
                        Channel:6
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality=44/70  Signal level=-66 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        ESSID:"Bain's"
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Mode:Master
                        Extra:tsf=0000000ec21b518a
                        Extra: Last beacon: 846ms ago
                        IE: Unknown: 00064261696E2773
                        IE: Unknown: 010882848B9624B0486C
                        IE: Unknown: 030106
                        IE: Unknown: 2A0104
                        IE: Unknown: 2F0104
                        IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                            Group Cipher : CCMP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        IE: Unknown: 32048C129860
                        IE: Unknown: DD06001018020014
    I also ran a airmon-ng

    Code:
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy0]

    I ran a test on my wireless usb aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    Code:
    10:57:46  Trying broadcast probe requests...
    10:57:48  No Answer...
    10:57:48  Found 1 AP
    
    10:57:48  Trying directed probe requests...
    10:57:48  00:14:BF:E8:EB:FE - channel: 6 - 'Bain's'
    10:57:50  Ping (min/avg/max): 0.934ms/7.826ms/69.120ms Power: -59.95
    10:57:50  19/30:  63%
    
    10:57:50  Injection is working!
    When I take my vmware out of bridged mode I'm unable to connect to the internet.

    This is what I want to do, I would like to run my BT4 on my hard drive vs. running it on Vmware. I get a faster response from BT4 on my hardrive and everything works extremely better on my hard drive. But before I start doing that I need to get BT4 to be able to network without being in bridged mode on Vmware.

    I hate that I had to come in here to ask for help, I really tried looking for the answer all week, this is my last resort. Hopfully this post can end up being a sticky to help others in the forum once I get it working.

    Thanks
    Damon Jones

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: Unable to connect to wireless usb out of bridged mode in VMware

    Other than your wlan0 actually seeing the networks, have you verified if it is in fact connected? Being that you've scaned using your wireless card I'll presume that you have connected it to the guest OS (being BT4). To verify wireless connection use ifconfig wlan0 and iwconfig wlan0 commands. If the ifconfig doesn't return an IP address in your address range then it is not connected. If so then search on wpa_supplicant and try to configure it manualy.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Ok ifconfig wlan0
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:df:d9:ad:50
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    iwconfig
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"Bain's"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.417 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Tx-Power=21 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    I'm stuck!

    I was able to get into the wpa_passphrase:
    root@bt:~# wpa_passphrase ssid wpapassphrase
    Code:
    network={
            ssid="ssid"
            #psk="wpapassphrase"
            psk=8d8c402f13e5c8d3eed3e3865f2171832ec3b0f814aae7097e9ca009c12b5dfb
    }
    I made a folder in my root /etc/wpa_supplicant and pasted this into it:
    Code:
    wpa_passphrase ssid wpapassphrase
    network={
            ssid="Bain's"
            #psk="lakers313"
            psk=8d8c402f13e5c8d3eed3e3865f2171832ec3b0f814aae7097e9ca009c12b5dfb
    	key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    	proto=WPA
    }
    After that i typed
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0
    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1c:df:d9:ad:50
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    I still was unable to get the IP address to show, still now able to get on the internet when now in bridged mode.
    Any other suggestions?
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-17-2010 at 06:47 PM.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Unable to connect to wireless usb out of bridged mode in VMware

    I have fixed the problem!
    1. You have to connect to your Wicd Manager
    2. Check to see what networks are available in your area.
    3. Connect to that network and put in the password
    4. Run a ifconfig wlan0 ( you should now see an ip address in there!)

    Thread closed

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: Unable to connect to wireless usb out of bridged mode in VMware

    Yeah you're close, but should read up on wpa_supplicant.
    Here are the steps to manually configure your wireless card for a wpa connection.

    Paste the below written code into a file named wpa_supplicant.conf (in a let's say /root/wpa/wpa_supplicant.conf).
    It doesn't matter where it's placed, I am used to having a wpa folder on my desktop so it's easier for me to manage my wireless connections.

    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    eapol_version=1
    ap_scan=1
    fast_reauth=1
    
    network={
    ssid="Bain's"
    proto=WPA
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP
    psk="lakers313"
    }
    Then in terminal

    wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c /root/wpa/wpa_supplicant.conf
    New terminal (or tab)
    dhclient wlan0

    Now you should get an ip address and the connection should be established.
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default iwlist will not scan, but aireplay-ng & airodump is working?

    This is weird, after I spent 2 days trying to get my Wicd working I ran into a problem after reseting my backtrack 4 final.

    Iwlist will not scan wlan0! I need it to scan in order to get Wicd to recognize available networks!

    VMware
    Backtrack 4 Final
    Belkin USB Wireless F5D9050
    WRT54G IP address: 192.168.1.1 wpa2

    airmon-ng
    Code:
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Ralink 2573 USB rt73usb - [phy2]
    iwlist wlan0
    Code:
    wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down
    ifup wlan0
    Code:
    ifup: interface wlan0 already configured
    iwconfig wlan0
    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:""
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.452 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
              Tx-Power=22 dBm
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    airodump-ng mon0
    Code:
    CH  3 ][ Elapsed: 58 s ][ 2010-04-18 11:52
    
     BSSID              PWR  Beacons    #Data, #/s  CH  MB   ENC  CIPHER AUTH ESSID
    
     00:14:BF:E8:EB:FE  -63        4       92    0   6  54 . WPA2 CCMP   PSK  Bain's
    aireplay-ng -9 mon0
    Code:
    11:36:46  Trying broadcast probe requests...
    
    11:36:48  No Answer...
    11:36:48  Found 2 APs
    
    11:36:48  Trying directed probe requests...
    11:36:48  00:0C:41:B1:F4:64 - channel: 6 - 'linksys'
    11:36:53  Ping (min/avg/max): 13.075ms/39.785ms/180.887ms Power: -88.00
    11:36:53   8/30:  26%
    
    11:36:53  Injection is working!
    
    11:36:53  00:14:BF:E8:EB:FE - channel: 6 - 'Bain's'
    11:36:56  Ping (min/avg/max): 2.205ms/8.234ms/63.416ms Power: -62.12
    11:36:56  16/30:  53%
    SEE! It sees that I have a network open in airodump-ng but for some reason it will not do a iwlist scan so Wicd can be available for me to use my wireless usb online. If anyone has any suggestions as to what may be the problem and can lead me in the right direction this will be well appreciated.

    Thanks
    Damon Jones

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: iwlist will not scan, but aireplay-ng & airodump is working?

    I seem to be following you around (not intentionally)
    To see if the interface is up use ifconfig (only ifconfig with no interface assignments or flags). If it is it will be listed. The iwlist command stated that the network (in this case the interface) is down.
    So,
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: iwlist will not scan, but aireplay-ng & airodump is working?

    merged so others can follow along, better provide assistance.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Ok I tried a few things.

    Code:
    root@bt:/# ifconfig wlan0 up
    root@bt:/# iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     Failed to read scan data : Resource temporarily unavailable
    Then tried it again.
    Code:
    root@bt:/# iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning : Device or resource busy
    For some reason the gui Wicd doesn't want to show the scans, so I guess I have to use the wpa_supplicant. Man, I hate that but at least i'm learning something new.

    If you have anymore ideas to get the Wicd gui and getting the wlan0 to scan would be cool! I would appreciate it.

    Thanks
    Damon Jones

    I did the wpa_supplicant.conf file this is the results:

    Code:
    wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c /root/wpa/wpa_supplicant.conf
    CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
    ioctl[SIOCGIWSCAN]: Resource temporarily unavailable
    ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Device or resource busy
    Failed to initiate AP scan.
    ioctl[SIOCGIWSCAN]: Resource temporarily unavailable
    ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Device or resource busy
    Failed to initiate AP scan.
    ioctl[SIOCGIWSCAN]: Resource temporarily unavailable
    ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Device or resource busy
    Failed to initiate AP scan.
    ioctl[SIOCGIWSCAN]: Resource temporarily unavailable
    ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Device or resource busy
    Failed to initiate AP scan.
    CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
    CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
    CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
    CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
    Then the dhclient wlan0
    Code:
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 5973
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    Listening on LPF/wlan0/00:1c:df:d9:ad:50
    Sending on   LPF/wlan0/00:1c:df:d9:ad:50
    Sending on   Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
    DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 14
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    I don't understand this, everything was working good 1 day ago before I rebooted my new BT4 Final, and I didn't change anything.

    For some odd reason, the wlan0 will not scan, wicd won't show any wireless networks but airodump-ng shows all the networks on the system.

    OK, i was able to get is scanning again.

    1. I had to reset the Backtrack 4 Final around 40 times! Just to get it to scan my F5D9050 Belkin usb adaptor, is it my wireless adaptor thats causing this or is it BT4 Final. The device works out the box, I need something that works when I need it to work, not when it wants too!

    Can someone tell me whats wrong, I hope its just the wireless usb instead of BT4 Final because I really like BT4 Final.

    I'm kinda scared to turn off the my computer because it took me so long to get my wireless card to scan, i don't want it to disconnect.

    Once it's scanning i'm able to do everything that BT4 has to offer.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-21-2010 at 06:17 PM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: Unable to connect to wireless usb out of bridged mode in VMware

    Yes, that's the GUI way
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

Similar Threads

  1. VMWare+BT4 Bridged Networking dosent work
    By cyberaquarius in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 10:33 AM
  2. Unable to connect to the wireless network
    By rOadToIS in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-22-2009, 01:33 AM
  3. Bridged networking, VMware
    By slowz3r in forum OLD BT4beta Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-12-2009, 05:05 PM
  4. Ralink USB wireless - Unable to connect
    By Zigs_dk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 02:09 AM
  5. Unable to connect to X server
    By 7ELEVEN in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •