Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: VMware error when attempting to use multiple monitors

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default VMware error when attempting to use multiple monitors

    When trying to switch between multiple monitors with the BT4 final release running in a VM (under VMware Workstation 6.5.3), the following error is displayed:

    "This virtual machine cannot use multiple monitors for the following reasons:

    * The virtual machine must have up-to-date VMware Tools installed and running."

    I followed the instructions in the HowTo regarding VMware Tools installation and everything appeared to install cleanly with no error messages.

    The VMware Tools services all seem to be starting up successfully at boot time.

    Nor do I see any Vmware related error messages in the log files.

    I have tried reinstalling VMware Tools, with the same result.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: VMware error when attempting to use multiple monitors

    Fixed the issue myself.

    Switched from using the downloadable BT4 final VM image to a from scratch install using the BT4 final ISO in a new VM guest.

    Not sure what is missing in the downloadable VM, but Multiple Monitor mode now works just fine.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: VMware error when attempting to use multiple monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by whiskeypapa View Post
    Fixed the issue myself.

    Switched from using the downloadable BT4 final VM image to a from scratch install using the BT4 final ISO in a new VM guest.

    Not sure what is missing in the downloadable VM, but Multiple Monitor mode now works just fine.
    I was having an issue with the vmware download that is provided also. I was unable to change the resolution 1280x800. I did a fresh install on the VM using the ISO file and everything works fine now.

Similar Threads

  1. BT4 Vmware USB Arbitrator Error
    By MassAppeal in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 08:10 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2010, 01:51 AM
  3. Bt- 4 serieas problem error error
    By lenien in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2010, 06:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •