Thread: Problem installing BT4 Final

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Problem installing BT4 Final

Hi everyone, this is my first time trying BT so please bear with me. I'm trying to install BT4 as a dual-boot on a laptop currently running Windows 7. I downloaded the BT4 Final .iso and verified that the md5 hash was correct. Burned the .iso to a DVD and also to a USB key with UNetbootin. The problem I'm having is that whenever I try to boot BT so I can install it I get this error: Missing operating system, it happens with both the DVD and the USB key. I appreciate any help or suggestions.

Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar

Default Re: Problem installing BT4 Final

Sounds like a windows error to me, instead of a linux error message.
    OK Computer specs can help us.
    Make sure usb and or dvd boot is available in the bios and do you know if any other live media can boot from this laptop?

Just burned his ISO

Is this the first time you have installed a dual boot system? What are the steps you took on the computer to prepare it for dual boot?

this happened to me with one of USB drives as well, i had followed some tutorial to instal Linux on it but it didn't work.Roughly remember that was some 8GB flash drive with enhanced protection,at least it always asked to set some password when plugged within Windows.No matter what i did (deleting partitions, formatting etc.).
    try that DVD somewhere else if at least working.When booting from DVD/USB choose it manually in BIOS or in BOOT menu of that laptop and also make sure there is no other USB drive sticked in laptop.