Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Eeeepc 1005pe Atheros wireless not working

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Question Eeeepc 1005pe Atheros wireless not working

    I'm new to linux, but I am trying to learn the goodness that is BackTrack. I have a new Eee PC 1005PE and installed BT4 Final to persist on the SDHC card, but I can't get the wireless to work. I'm thinking I'll wear out the internet if I continue googling, but I appreciate all the wise words on here and other forums. I'm hoping the group here can help with the problem I'm facing now. Please keep in mind I'm new to Linux, so feel free to fact-check anything I say because I may be using the wrong word for something.

    ifconfig shows eth0 and lo as active and I can use the wired connection, but the wireless is conspicuously missing.

    iwconfig shows both lo and eth0 as "no wireless extensions"

    lspci (skipping the boring stuff) shows:
    Code:
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. Atheros AR8132 / L1c Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev c0)
    02:00.0 Network controller: atheros Communications Inc. Device 002c (rev 01)
    And here's where it gets weird:
    Code:
    # modprobe -r ath_pci
    FATAL: Module ath_pci not found
    Code:
    #airdriver-ng detect
    
    Found "Madwifi[-ng]" device: (ath_pci)
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. Atheros AR8132 / L1c Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (rev c0)
    02:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. Device 002c (rev 01)
    
    USB devices (generic detection):
    Bus 005 Device 002: ID 0b05:1788 ASUSTek Computer, Inc.
    So that makes me wonder if "ath_pci" is functional or not.

    I've used Synaptic to install ndiswrapper and madwifi. The ndiswrapper GUI accepts the Windows drivers that I've downloaded and I get an error when using "Wireless Network Drivers" to install netathw.inf (same result for netathr.inf and netathwx.inf). That error reads:

    Code:
     Module could not be loaded.  Error was:
    FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.
    Is the ndiswrapper module installed?
    But clicking "OK" lets me see the driver back in the "Wireless Network Drivers" screen along with "Hardware Present: Yes"

    So does that mean it worked? I don't think so because the ifconfig and iwconfig still show nothing useful.

    What say you, what do I need to do to get this to work? Thanks for all your help, I look forward to providing whatever error or status messages you need to help me troubleshoot this.
    Last edited by eeepclover; 04-11-2010 at 03:58 PM. Reason: typo

  2. #2
    Member MosGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: Eeeepc 1005pe Atheros wireless not working

    Apart from double-checking that the wireless is enabled in the BIOS. If you run " /etc/init.d/networking start " , what is the output of ifconfig after that ?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Both ath0 and wlan0 get the same message:

    Code:
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device 
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device 
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device 
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.
    Quote Originally Posted by MosGuy View Post
    Apart from double-checking that the wireless is enabled in the BIOS. If you run " /etc/init.d/networking start " , what is the output of ifconfig after that ?
    Eth0 works as usual and gets its IP from DHCP.

    Code:
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium
    
    blah blah
    
    SIOCIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: Error while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: Error while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    
    Blah blah
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0
    done.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 04-12-2010 at 01:19 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Eeeepc 1005pe Atheros wireless not working

    Blah Blah Blah is not an error output. At least not one for running the above command.
    Further more the request was to post the output and that generally means the whole thing. Since I don't see an eth0 or a lo listed that would be you truncated it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Eeeepc 1005pe Atheros wireless not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel.Amael View Post
    Blah Blah Blah is not an error output. At least not one for running the above command.
    Further more the request was to post the output and that generally means the whole thing. Since I don't see an eth0 or a lo listed that would be you truncated it.
    Right, it is truncated. I was trying to save you some time in skipping through the wired stuff since it does work. But here's the full output.

    Code:
    # /etc/init.d/networking start
    Configuring network interfaces...eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth1: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth2: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth2.
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    ath0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up ath0.
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.1
    Copyright 2004-2008 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up wlan0.
    done.
    I have also since purchased a TP-LINK TL-WN422G and I'm working to get it installed, too. It was plugged in while the above command was run, so it's not being seen, either.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Eeeepc 1005pe Atheros wireless not working

    I have a 1005 sitting right next to me running BT, and internet is running fine.

    Here's a hint:
    Try starting wicd, it's started in the same directory as the networking script.

Similar Threads

  1. Asus Eee PC 1005PE & BackTrack
    By mistafreeze in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 07:50 AM
  2. ASUS eee 1005PE help
    By Zachzor in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 05:09 PM
  3. Atheros AR5009 not working
    By Erjon in forum OLD Bt4beta Non-Working Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 10:53 AM
  4. wireless not working -Atheros/EEEPC/BT3
    By algemy in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 11:33 PM
  5. Atheros AWLC4130 not working
    By carlosfusion in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 03:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •