Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO verysofttoiletpaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    Hi,

    Downloaded the backtrack 4 vmware image and opened it with VMware fusion (the mac version (3.0.2)).

    The problem is the maximum resolution available is inferior to the native display resolution.

    Already tried to reinstall the vmware tools but didn't solved.


    Thank you in advance

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    Quote Originally Posted by verysofttoiletpaper View Post
    Hi,
    Downloaded the backtrack 4 vmware image and opened it with VMware fusion (the mac version (3.0.2)).
    The problem is the maximum resolution available is inferior to the native display resolution.
    Already tried to reinstall the vmware tools but didn't solved.
    Thank you in advance
    I get, this is one of those games where we are not only supposed to guess your question but guess that answer too right?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO verysofttoiletpaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    The problem is that the maximum resolution available is inferior to the native display resolution.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    Quote Originally Posted by verysofttoiletpaper View Post
    The problem is that the maximum resolution available is inferior to the native display resolution.
    Well what did you do to try and change it? Did you use krandr or did you try editing the xorg.conf file ?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO verysofttoiletpaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    Thank you for the tip.

    Added the resolution of my display to the xorg.conf, rebooted, and it activated it for me.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    Quote Originally Posted by verysofttoiletpaper View Post
    Thank you for the tip.

    Added the resolution of my display to the xorg.conf, rebooted, and it activated it for me.
    Indeed and you probably learned a thing or two along the way. Cheers

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Backtrack 4 resolution in VMWare Fusion (mac)

    The below xorg.conf works for me just dandy in VMWare Fusion with BT4-Final, just replace your xorg.conf with this:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier      "vmware"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier      "Default Screen"
            Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
            Device          "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 07:13 PM
  2. backtrack 2 + n3 + vmware fusion hangs
    By steffi in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 12:25 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-12-2009, 06:03 PM
  4. installing vmware-tools in vmware-fusion running bt4-prefinal
    By littlegreendragon in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:50 PM
  5. [Problem] VMware tools install Guest OS on Vmware Fusion
    By Tharp94895 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 02:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •