Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: can't obtain IP

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default can't obtain IP

    Hey guys,

    I’m using:
    BackTrack 4 (prefinal)
    with Alfa AWUS360H

    I once cracked a WEP network with MAC filter, got the key and could obtain the IP without any problems. I leave it alone for a while (just interested in the challenge) and now I noticed it has changed. “WEP40” is now mentioned as Cipher (not WEP anymore) and there’s a new key. I cracked the key but I still can’t connect.

    This is my procedure:
    Ifconfig wlan1 hw ether 00:00:00:00:00:00 (known Mac)
    airmon-ng start wlan1
    airodump-ng mon0
    airodump-ng -c 9 --bssid 00:00:00:00:00:00 -w save mon0
    - no need of aireplay cuz packets came in fast
    aircrack-ng save-01.cap

    sudo wicd
    wicd-client &
    - enable wlan1, Advanced Options, WEP(Hex) (earlier I had to chose Shared/Restricted), entering the key. Connect

    It’s validating without any problems but I can’t obtain an IP. It’s like the key would be wrong. So I collect packets another time but I still got the same key: 54:14:54:13:12:0A:BCE:F1:23:45:67:89 (first 5 pairs changed). I was confused about the ending (0abcde..) at first, but I think that’s because it’s 40 byte, so only the first 5 pairs matter. I tried to leave them out, still no IP. I got two validated MAC addresses, tried both, same result.

    What does I have to do to get an IP?

    thx

    solvo

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: can't obtain IP

    Quote Originally Posted by solvo View Post
    Hey guys,

    I’m using:
    BackTrack 4 (prefinal)
    with Alfa AWUS360H

    I once cracked a WEP network with MAC filter, got the key and could obtain the IP without any problems. I leave it alone for a while (just interested in the challenge) and now I noticed it has changed. “WEP40” is now mentioned as Cipher (not WEP anymore) and there’s a new key. I cracked the key but I still can’t connect.

    This is my procedure:
    Ifconfig wlan1 hw ether 00:00:00:00:00:00 (known Mac)
    airmon-ng start wlan1
    airodump-ng mon0
    airodump-ng -c 9 --bssid 00:00:00:00:00:00 -w save mon0
    - no need of aireplay cuz packets came in fast
    aircrack-ng save-01.cap

    sudo wicd
    wicd-client &
    - enable wlan1, Advanced Options, WEP(Hex) (earlier I had to chose Shared/Restricted), entering the key. Connect

    It’s validating without any problems but I can’t obtain an IP. It’s like the key would be wrong. So I collect packets another time but I still got the same key: 54:14:54:13:12:0A:BCE:F1:23:45:67:89 (first 5 pairs changed). I was confused about the ending (0abcde..) at first, but I think that’s because it’s 40 byte, so only the first 5 pairs matter. I tried to leave them out, still no IP. I got two validated MAC addresses, tried both, same result.

    What does I have to do to get an IP?

    thx

    solvo
    How's your access point set up?

  3. #3
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default Re: can't obtain IP

    Quote Originally Posted by solvo View Post
    What does I have to do to get an IP?

    thx

    solvo
    Do you have DHCP enabled on your AP?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: can't obtain IP

    try to connect through terminal, (iwconfig) and then check if associated to AP ( iwconfig wlan1 | grep Access )
    then dhclient wlan1.

  5. #5
    Member MosGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: can't obtain IP

    Quote Originally Posted by solvo View Post
    I’m using:
    BackTrack 4 (prefinal)
    with Alfa AWUS360H
    Any reason you're still running Pre-final instead of BT 4 Final ?. As streaker mentioned is DHCP enabled ?, what about MAC filtering ?
    Last edited by MosGuy; 04-09-2010 at 01:55 AM.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: can't obtain IP

    We do not support Bt4 pre-final please upgrade and try again.

Similar Threads

  1. HELP PLEASE! obtain router serial
    By slim76 in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 01:37 PM
  2. Obtain Controll via TCP
    By Dreamtouch in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-13-2008, 02:55 PM
  3. Can't obtain a handshake with WPA
    By diggity801 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-03-2007, 01:41 AM
  4. where can I obtain this exploit
    By vsotolkanachinaietsa in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-06-2007, 03:53 PM
  5. obtain linux password
    By tiger66 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2007, 04:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •