Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    Default airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work

    Hi,

    I'am using a Thinkpad T42 with centrino Intel 2200bg and it was perfectly working when using BT3 beta 141207. Since BT3 final and also in BT4 I start airodump-ng and it works, as soon as I start aireplay-ng -4, it seems that both airodump and aireplay stops to work properly.

    If I stop airodump-ng, I do a new iwconfig (for associating) and airodump-ng, both start to work OK, but as soon as aireplay ask me for "use this record" and I replay "Y", again both stop to work.

    Any idea of what the problem can be?

    P.S.: This is somehow a duplication of the post I added to a thread about T42 in Hardware Compatibility Forum, but I feel it is more appropiate to post it here, because I feel it is somehow a bug, as everything worked OK in BT3 beta.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default Re: airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work

    afaik it's an aircrack-ng bug

    that seems to be fixed in really latest svn revision ........

    so update

    ++
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    afaik it's an aircrack-ng bug

    that seems to be fixed in really latest svn revision ........

    so update

    ++
    Shamnvirtuel, thanks for your answer. Let me be sure I understand it. Do you mean that I should download latest aircrack-ng release and update BT4 with such latest release using the procedure for upating the BT4 ISO that is somewhere in these forums?

    Because "svn" seems to be known to me, but I'm not able to remember exactly its meaning.

    **** Edit:

    Forget about my (silly) svn question, I went to the right places (google, wikipedia and aircrack-ng forum) and found everything I needed, including how to install aicrack-ng from the latest svn.

    I still have to find how to modify the BT4 ISO with that latest svn, but I'll test before if it works OK using the source installation over the current ISO and will update this thread with findings.

    Thanks again
    Last edited by fjecp; 04-10-2010 at 09:32 AM. Reason: svn how-to found

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work

    Test Done...

    Update done using "svn co ....." command.

    Unfortunately, similar result .

    Additionally I found that if, once both airodump-ng and aireplay-ng stops to increase the counters, I stop the process of airodump-ng and re-issue iwconfig for re-associating eth1 to the target AP and again airodump-ng, both counters in airodump-ng and aireplay-ng resume the count up.

    BUT as soon as a possible record is found and I answer YES to the question, aireplay-ng guess counter stops to go on, even airodump-ng counter still goes up.

    Does this mean anything for anyone?

    Again BT3 beta December 2007 worked OK, everything started to go wrong with BT3 final.

    Thanks for any help
    Last edited by fjecp; 04-10-2010 at 03:01 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: airodump-ng and aireplay-ng on BT4 stops to work

    I did another test and the result was at the same time extrange and interesting

    I installed BackTrack 4 in a disk and tested airodump-ng and aireplay-ng. They worked perfectly !!!!

    The installation was done using the same BT4 ISO than the used when tested using the CD Live and the USB live.

    So the conclusion for me is:

    1.- airodump-ng and aireplay-ng work perfectly when we boot from a HDD with BT4 installed on it.
    2.- they don't work when we boot from either a Live CD or a Live USB
    3.- In either case, the source BT4 ISO is the same.

    Any explanation for it from any of our gurus or developpers (or gurus developpers or developper gurus) ?

    Regards

Similar Threads

  1. Aireplay getting alot more packets than airodump??
    By TAz00 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 03:51 PM
  2. Kismet Keeps timing out, Airodump not work right ?
    By piccolo_21 in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-05-2007, 12:42 PM
  3. Aireplay stops injecting ?
    By Double_penetration in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-31-2007, 07:38 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2007, 06:35 PM
  5. Airodump-ng & Aireplay-ng auto stop function
    By -=Xploitz=- in forum OLD Feature requests
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •