Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cant detect wireless

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Question Cant detect wireless

    Hi there,
    I've installed BT4 at WMware workstation, but when I go to Wicd network manager I can't see any wireless networks and when I type in airmon-ng in konsol it only respons:

    Interface Chipset Driver
    and nothing else (it should response something like "wlan0")

    I've googled the problem, but all the usefull threads I can find are at the old forum, and I can't find them in here.

    I hope you can help me

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Cant detect wireless

    What type of wireless card do you have?
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Cant detect wireless

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    What type of wireless card do you have?
    I've a Broadcom 802.11g.

    btw, I've tried "/etc/init.d/networking start" but it fails to bring up wlan0.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Cant detect wireless

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterLS View Post
    I've a Broadcom 802.11g.

    btw, I've tried "/etc/init.d/networking start" but it fails to bring up wlan0.
    Inbuilt into your laptop Im guessing?

    You read this right? Its a sticky thread in the FAQ forum.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Cant detect wireless

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    Inbuilt into your laptop Im guessing?

    You read this right? Its a sticky thread in the FAQ forum.
    I guess your question is rhetorical. Anyway thanks for you answer.

  6. #6
    Senior Member micole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: Cant detect wireless

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    What type of wireless card do you have?
    $5 says its an internal card and not a USB.
    Common Knowledge: Username, "root". Password, "toor". "startx" gives you a GUI, and "fix-vesa" will fix BT if you have no GUI. Start networking with "/etc/init.d/networking start" and check your IP settings with "ifconfig -a". "dhclient" will automatically use DHCP for your IP. Google is your friend.

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack 3 won't detect USB wireless adaptor
    By 0_00_0 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-18-2009, 06:15 AM
  2. BT4 wont detect wireless card
    By Hax0rPunk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-06-2009, 06:15 PM
  3. Wireless Assistant does not detect networks...
    By llvllonk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-01-2009, 12:06 PM
  4. Airodump-ng doesn't detect wireless networks
    By mtop6867 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 05:28 PM
  5. it doesnt detect wired nor wireless cards!
    By ninhovid in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 06:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •