Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Another Resolution Question!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Another Resolution Question!

    I have a laptop that supports 1600x900 but i cann't for the life of me get this within BT4 in vmware. I can get other large sizes.

    Im using the latest BT4 vmware image.

    I have tried the usual editing xorg.conf and xrandr etc.

    Can the vmware tools support my resolution?

    I have Ubuntu 10.x in vmware supporting 1600x900 and it looks beautiful!

    Any suggestions on what to try next?

    D

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nathanx View Post
    Can the vmware tools support my resolution?
    Yes, it can pretty much support any resolution.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    This is what i have done.

    The config says it has changed. The screen flashes but stays the same resolution.

    This is for my laptop monitor.

    root@bt:~# xrandr -q
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 384, current 1280 x 800, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x800+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1280x1024 86.0
    1024x768 85.0
    800x600 86.0
    640x480 86.0
    1280x960 86.0
    1280x800 0.0*
    1152x864 86.0
    1280x768 0.0
    1280x720 0.0
    720x576 0.0
    854x480 0.0
    800x480 0.0
    720x480 0.0
    640x400 86.0
    512x384 0.0
    320x400 0.0

    root@bt:~# gtf 1600 900 59

    # 1600x900 @ 59.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 54.93 kHz; pclk: 116.89 MHz
    Modeline "1600x900_59.00" 116.89 1600 1696 1864 2128 900 901 904 931 -HSync +Vsyn c

    root@bt:~# xrandr --newmode "1600x900_59.00" 116.89 1600 1696 1864 2128 900 901 904 931 -HSync +Vsync
    root@bt:~# xrandr -q
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 384, current 1280 x 800, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x800+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1280x1024 86.0
    1024x768 85.0
    800x600 86.0
    640x480 86.0
    1280x960 86.0
    1280x800 0.0*
    1152x864 86.0
    1280x768 0.0
    1280x720 0.0
    720x576 0.0
    854x480 0.0
    800x480 0.0
    720x480 0.0
    640x400 86.0
    512x384 0.0
    320x400 0.0
    1600x900_59.00 (0x75) 116.9MHz
    h: width 1600 start 1696 end 1864 total 2128 skew 0 clock 54.9KHz
    v: height 900 start 901 end 904 total 931 clock 59.0Hz

    root@bt:~# xrandr --addmode default 1600x900_59.00

    root@bt:~# xrandr --output default --mode 1600x900_59.00
    xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed

    root@bt:~# xrandr -q
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 384, current 1280 x 800, maximum 1600 x 1024
    default connected 1280x800+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1280x1024 86.0
    1024x768 85.0
    800x600 86.0
    640x480 86.0
    1280x960 86.0
    1280x800 0.0*
    1152x864 86.0
    1280x768 0.0
    1280x720 0.0
    720x576 0.0
    854x480 0.0
    800x480 0.0
    720x480 0.0
    640x400 86.0
    512x384 0.0
    320x400 0.0
    1600x900_59.00 59.0

    root@bt:~# xrandr --output default --mode 1600x900_59.00
    xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed




    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Graphics device section
    # ************************************************** ********************

    # Any number of graphics device sections may be present

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "VESA Framebuffer"
    Driver "vesa"
    #VideoRam 4096
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    EndSection

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Screen sections
    # ************************************************** ********************

    # Any number of screen sections may be present. Each describes
    # the configuration of a single screen. A single specific screen section
    # may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
    # option.
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen 1"
    Device "VESA Framebuffer"
    Monitor "My Monitor"
    Modeline "1600x900_59.00" 116.89 1600 1696 1864 2128 900 901 904 931 -HSync +Vsync
    Option "PreferredMode" "1600x900_59.00"

    # If your card can handle it, a higher default color depth (like 24 or 32)
    # is highly recommended.

    # DefaultDepth 8
    # DefaultDepth 16
    DefaultDepth 24
    # DefaultDepth 32

    # "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution. If you
    # have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
    # "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
    # card/monitor can produce)

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1600x900_59.00" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1600x900_59.00" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 32
    Modes "1600x900_59.00" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    EndSection

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    This is for the laptop screen not monitor.

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nathanx View Post
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1600x900_59.00" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1600x900_59.00" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 32
    Modes "1600x900_59.00" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    EndSection
    I don't think it needs the "_59.00" part... Do not double post. Part of the rules.
    Also, vmtools install would be much more easier.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Tried with an without 59.00.

    VMtools are installed. What do you mean?

  7. #7
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nathanx View Post
    Tried with an without 59.00.

    VMtools are installed. What do you mean?
    Oh... I thought you knew. VMware can make the guest system screen auto-adjust to the vmware window (even when the resolution isn't listed). Just thick the "autofit guest" option (in the view menu, i think) and the press ctrl+alt+enter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •