Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: BT4 on VMware no network cards :/

  1. #11
    Junior Member thedp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    But I still wonder, maybe it's possible to trick BackTrack into think that eth0 is a wireless drive... But then, in order to take full advantage of wifi card it need to have complete access and not the fake access granted by the VMware.
    Just thinking

  2. #12
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Dont think its possible without an external card after doing further research.

    Need some suggestions for external cards

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Taxman View Post
    Dont think its possible without an external card after doing further research.

    Need some suggestions for external cards
    bump this question

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Saw this baby on best buy's site... Waiting on the chipset to see if it is compatible.... Anyone know if this is compatible with BT4? There are 2 different chip sets from what I read up on. One is and one isn't, but that was from a list when BT3 was out. BT4 having a different Kernel,.. is there a new compatibility list?

    It's got a range of 2000' NICE!

    Hawking Technology - Hi-Gain Wireless-G Desktop Dish Networking Adapter - HWU8DD


  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    does anyone know if you could get around this problem is you dual boot linux with windows?

  6. #16
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Taxman View Post
    does anyone know if you could get around this problem is you dual boot linux with windows?
    Booting natively in linux will allow the internal device to work as a wifi device.

    For the ten billionth time.

    NO INTERNAL WIFI DEVICE WILL WORK AS A WIFI DEVICE IN ANY VIRTUAL MACHINE ENVIRONMENT!

    Unless it's an internal usb device, I guess they do exist. Really, it's been asked literally thousands of times here on this forum, it's even been suggested to have a big flashy banner at the top stating this.

  7. #17
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Unless it's an internal usb device, I guess they do exist.
    Yes, but they are so rare that i don't think it is worth mention. Only me and another member of this forums have reported this. 2 in thousands...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •