Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: BT4 on VMware no network cards :/

  1. #1
    Junior Member thedp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35

    Unhappy BT4 on VMware no network cards :/

    Hello,

    I've installed BT4 on a VMware Workstation.
    But for some weird reason it can't see any of my network drives, I have both Ethernet and WiFi.

    I tried to play with the VMware network setting for this machine, NAT and Bridge, nothing.

    Also, I installed the machine as Ubuntu, I figured since both Ubuntu and BT4 are based on Debian it should be ok.

    I tried to look through the forum but was unable to find anything related threads that can fix my problem.

    Any advice?


    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hi,

    Try this:
    1 - VMware network setting > NAT
    2 - Launch BT4
    3 - Open a shell
    4 - /etc/init.d/networking start

    Evok

  3. #3
    Junior Member thedp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    That indeed connected the network, thank you.
    But it recognized it as eth0 and not wlan... Is there anyway to make it into wlan? Or something like that is not possible with VMware?

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I have the same problem with :
    VMware fusion and a macbook
    and virtualbox and a thinkpad

    I know that both macbook and thinkpad wifi drivers are not supported by BT4..

    Did you check your driver's compatibility?

    Evok

  5. #5
    Junior Member thedp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evok1 View Post
    I have the same problem with :
    VMware fusion and a macbook
    and virtualbox and a thinkpad

    I know that both macbook and thinkpad wifi drivers are not supported by BT4..

    Did you check your driver's compatibility?

    Evok
    I don't think it's a matter of drivers but what the VMware allows BT4 to see.
    VMware takes my Windows' WiFi connection and tells BT4 that this is just eth0.
    This is really annoying... I can't sniff the wifi :/

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I found this on an other forum

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    Any virtualisation software can only use USB wireless network cards as physical devices, all other types of wireless card are seen as virtual ethernet devices and can only be seen as a wireless device by the host and not by the guest operating system. So if you want to run BackTrack in VMWare or Virtualbox and have full wireless capabilities, make sure you are using a USB device.
    just buy a compatible usb wifi key and you will be able to sniff the wifi

    Evok

  7. #7
    Junior Member thedp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evok1 View Post
    I found this on an other forum



    just buy a compatible usb wifi key and you will be able to sniff the wifi

    Evok
    Nah... I think I'll just install it on a disk on key and do my stuff from there

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hey,

    Have a similar problems, but couldn't find an answer from search.
    Have installed BT4 final correctly. Running on Vista via VirtualBox.

    Have VB settings as Bridged.

    after entering networking start in konsole. This shows eth0 and l0. i run airmon-ng
    airmon-ng does not display any card even after starting networking.
    Help? ? ?

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thedp View Post
    Nah... I think I'll just install it on a disk on key and do my stuff from there
    Did the same thing on a eeepc4g and it works well

    Hey,
    Have a similar problems, but couldn't find an answer from search.
    Have installed BT4 final correctly. Running on Vista via VirtualBox.

    Have VB settings as Bridged.

    after entering networking start in konsole. This shows eth0 and l0. i run airmon-ng
    airmon-ng does not display any card even after starting networking.
    Help? ? ?
    --
    Any virtualisation software can only use USB wireless network cards as physical devices, all other types of wireless card are seen as virtual ethernet devices and can only be seen as a wireless device by the host and not by the guest operating system. So if you want to run BackTrack in VMWare or Virtualbox and have full wireless capabilities, make sure you are using a USB device.
    --

    > You need to use a usb wifi key

    Evok

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    ok thanks for the info.

    any recommendations on which usb card to get?
    thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •