Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newb question about making BackTrack CD

Just burned his ISO

Exclamation newb question about making BackTrack CD

UPDATE: please answer question at bottom (Can someone confirm that you don't need to be able to go into BIOS settings in order to dual boot????)

Hi, READ THIS OUT BEFORE YOU ACCUSE ME OF LAZINESS ... yes I HAVE searched the forums, the FAQ's and the tuts, I have googled like crazy, but it seems that my problem is so basic that no one has bothered to make a thread about it.

I already know how to properly burn an iso to a CD / USB drive, BUT my problem is the actual CD .. do you have to get a 2gb+ CD / DVD for BT4? because I only have 700mb max CD's ... I read somewhere you can split it up and use 2 CD's somehow but it was very confusing for me because I'm very new at this (but I learn fast [; ) is this possible and if so, how?

USB drive is out of the question for me due to problems with the BIOS on my lappy, but I was told that dual boot up was possible without having to go into BIOS and change settings (can someone confirm?)

If one does need a 2gb+ cd/dvd for BT4 then I plan on installing the older versions which are a lot smaller than BT4.

Thanks to anybody who takes the time to read this and/or reply

UPDATE: I've found some 4 gb DVDs lying around my house so that's solved

Can someone confirm that you don't need to be able to go into BIOS settings in order to dual boot????

You need to burn BackTrack 4 to a blank DVD.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

Just burned his ISO

Quote Originally Posted by lupin View Post
    You need to burn BackTrack 4 to a blank DVD.