Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: DHCP Problems, please help.

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs down DHCP Problems, please help.

    So I've got a question about setting up a DHCP3 server. Mostly, I just want to use kermetasploit and airbase-ng. In order to use this do I need buy a domain or use a pre-existing domain name and/or server????? I really don't get it, and yes I googled the living shit out of it. Here is the syslog error:

    root@bt:~# /etc/init.d/dhcp3-server start
    Starting DHCP server: dhcpd3* check syslog for diagnostics.
    failed!
    root@bt:~# tail /var/log/syslog
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: Wrote 0 leases to leases file.
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd:
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: No subnet declaration for eth0 (0.0.0.0).
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: ** Ignoring requests on eth0. If this is not what
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: you want, please write a subnet declaration
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: in your dhcpd.conf file for the network segment
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: to which interface eth0 is attached. **
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd:
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd:
    Jan 26 10:49:15 bt dhcpd: Not configured to listen on any interfaces!

    }


    Here is my dhcpd.conf file:

    default-lease-time 600;
    max-lease-time 7200;
    option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
    option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
    option routers 192.168.1.254;
    option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.1, 192.168.1.2;


    subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
    range 192.168.1.10 192.168.1.100;
    range 192.168.1.150 192.168.1.200;
    }


    and my ifconfig for eth0:

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:24:3c:b4:54
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    I'm loving backtrack and everything about it but I'm not able to get this working... it just keeps failing...
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    It seems like the starting of the daemon via init.d won't work because dhcpd is expecting to listen on a specific interface. Have a look here for an example of how it should work when you do specify an interface to listen on:
    http://www.offensive-security.com/me...-Configuration

  3. #3
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Υου can refer to this link also, that might found it helpful:
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/new...irbase-ng.html

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks, Nick. Very insightful article.

    I still seem to get errors but I think I'll study up on dhcp before trying to configure this file again because I do not feel I understand it as I should. Thanks.

    Also, what file would I specify what interface it should listen on?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    A DHCP Server needs to have a static IP Address assigned... generally one that's in the same subnet as the addresses you are trying to lease.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •