Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: GUI after startup does not work

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default GUI after startup does not work

    Ok well. I just downloaded BackTrack 4 yesterday. Feeling it would be a good platform to work on, and my techy friend said he uses it and like it. So I took to install it and burn it. I try running it and right after i enter "startx" it trys to load up the KDE screen. But everything becomes pixilated and moving. Like back and fourth really fast, you cant make out anything. Now Im pretty sure its not a burning issue because i burned as a image in nero. at 2x speed so nothing screwed up. I wonder if it could be my graphics card? ATI 9200se, its stock but i mean it should do the job since it ran ubuntu 9.10. Any help?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: GUI after startup does not work

    I had a similar issue when I tried putting BT4 on a second machine.

    My 2nd machine doesn't support USB boot, so I put the HDD in my primary PC, formatted the HDD, booted from USB, installed to HDD, then put my HDD into my secondary computer. It loads fine, but as soon as I boot the GUI I get some colored pixelation, then my monitor goes black.

    Is my video card not supported? o.O

  3. #3
    Senior Member hypervista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: GUI after startup does not work

    Quote Originally Posted by crazyhacker
    So I took to install it and burn it.
    I see your problem, you should have burned it first and then installed it.... <grin>

    Seriously, try this:

    Go to the ATI or HP website and download the latest linux driver for your system. Then do the following:

    Code:
    chmod +x <driver installer file name here>
    
    (Accept the default settings.  Once it installs, open a shell and type:)
    
    aticonfig
    aticonfig -initial -input=/etc/x11/xorg.conf
    aticonfig -resolution<whatever resolution your system takes, i.e. 0, 1400x900>
    
    (then reboot)
    I hope that helps.
    Last edited by hypervista; 03-25-2010 at 07:44 PM.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: GUI after startup does not work

    Actually, I spoke to soon. I figured it out; hopefully the same process will fix your problem. The only issue I forsee is if you're booting from an ISO, as I was booting from my HDD.

    Once your prompt appears, input "vga=normal" without quotes, hit enter. Run startx.

    If that doesn't work, try doing the same thing, but then input "fix-vesa" without quotes, and hit enter. Input "reboot" hit enter. Upon startup, run startx.

    I hope this helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Startup script running
    By PostalService in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-23-2010, 12:21 PM
  2. is there a startup script location?
    By redss in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 06:49 AM
  3. Many windows at startup (BT4)
    By Daffy82 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 05:09 PM
  4. Backtrack 4 hang at startup
    By monster in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 12:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •