Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Increase Speed k/s

Just burned his ISO

Default Increase Speed k/s

hi all

i'm pretty new to WPA cracking (WEP is very simple) and have been reading these forums for the last couple of days and i still have a few unanswered questions.

i have a captured four way handshake from my own network and ran it though a 300mb dic file and it took 10 hours!!! with still no results. the purpose of this was to see if the widley avaible dic files would have my password. the next step is to download pureh@te's 1.9 gig dic file but thats gonna take weeks to run.

my question is there a way of speeding up this process by increasing the k/s without spending hundereds? i tired airolib-ng and that took ages as well! when it finally came to crack it was doing 30000 k/s but took just as long to set up.

i no i could just create a tiny dic file with 4 words in it and my passphrase and i would crack in 2 seconds but that would be boring and very simple.

cheers

Just burned his ISO

To check if your password is in the dictionary file:

grep yourpassword /path/to/your/dictionary

Just burned his ISO

learning every day cheers

still need to speed up my k/s tho

Well, jaapbaas got it ! That's definitely the best way to check your password.

The only way two ways to speed up the process when you don't know the password are :
    1) Use an app that can run multiple threads (on a multicore box obviously)...
    2) Buy some hardware (aka "spend hundreds")

Just burned his ISO

1) Use an app that can run multiple threads (on a multicore box obviously)...

Any suggestions ?

Just burned his ISO

elcomsoft.com/ewsa.html
    Or take a look at this article written by pureh@te:
    offensive-security.com/documentation/backtrack-4-cuda-guide.pdf
    Or you could split up your wordlist and run multiple crackers. (If you have a cpu with multiple cores)

I think google will find another 1000 options for you. (See ~LCF~'s sig)
    Good luck!