Thread: BT4 Brute Force...

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default BT4 Brute Force...

I am trying to crack a WPA-PSK key in my Basic Offensive Security Class using BackTrack 4 Beta Release. I have a dict file over 80MBs, but I STILL cant get the pass... The password might be something completely random like "aw91t@$l2".

The goal of the assignment is to use all available resources to get that pass, even if we haven't learned the techniques as yet. (We were basically instructed for 2 weeks on the basics, the popped with this for two test grades... T_T)
    What should I do?

I am a noob too but i think bruteforce wont be the best way..

you could try this way: (but it will be a bad way too, it is just an idea i've never tried before)

-Kill the true AP with MDK3
    -create a fake AP with the same BSSID and a fake WPA encryption (i dont remember if the fake encryption is possible)
    -route the traffic through this new connection (victims will have an internet access)
    -create a fake Router Home page (you must know the brand and model of this one) or a Provider home page and start it on the apache server
    -dns spoofing and sniffing with ettercap to grab login and password to try to enter the router and read the wpa key

Second idea: (a remote keylogging)
    create a trojan with the metasploit meterpreter and link it with a document or a file (where you ask the victim to go in the router and retype its security parameters or its wpa key). Send it to your victim. Start a keylogging to grab the wpa key....

with my two methods you will have 2 chances on 1 million to grab the wpa key but i really think "social engineering" will be easier.

Quote Originally Posted by murdock69 View Post
    -create a fake AP with the same BSSID and a fake WPA encryption (i dont remember if the fake encryption is possible)
    -route the traffic through this new connection (victims will have an internet access)