Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Undefined video mode number 317

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Undefined video mode number 317

    I'm getting this error:
    Undefined video mode number 317

    What I have to do to skip this error?

    I use a mini notebook or whatever they call it with resolution 1024x600
    Adapter type/string: Mobile Intel 945 Express Chipset Family
    Chip type: Intel GMA 950

  2. #2
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Undefined video mode number 317

    Quote Originally Posted by darkhorn View Post
    I'm getting this error:
    Undefined video mode number 317

    What I have to do to skip this error?

    I use a mini notebook or whatever they call it with resolution 1024x600
    Adapter type/string: Mobile Intel 945 Express Chipset Family
    Chip type: Intel GMA 950
    Google Search - Undefined video mode number 317
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  3. #3
    Junior Member jnt13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Undefined video mode number 317

    I read through a couple of those google results, as I had the same issue and was kind of curious what was suggested.

    Alternately I just deleted the entry vga=317 all together. I run my usb multiboot from my netbook and desktop, and have had no resolution problems since. I've booted it up on 2 other laptops without issue aswell. It seems to detect the proper resolution to use just fine on its own.

  4. #4
    Member MosGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: Undefined video mode number 317

    What I did was open the grub menu (/boot/grub/menu.lst), Then added "defoptions=vga=0x315" to the appropriate section.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    6

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by MosGuy View Post
    What I did was open the grub menu (/boot/grub/menu.lst), Then added "defoptions=vga=0x315" to the appropriate section.
    What is the "appropriate section"?
    Where is used "defoptions=vga=0x315", what does it mean?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnt13 View Post
    I read through a couple of those google results, as I had the same issue and was kind of curious what was suggested.

    Alternately I just deleted the entry vga=317 all together. I run my usb multiboot from my netbook and desktop, and have had no resolution problems since. I've booted it up on 2 other laptops without issue aswell. It seems to detect the proper resolution to use just fine on its own.
    There are 2 "vga=317"s, which one you have deleted? I deleted the first one, it didn't helped.

    I've already tried them. Then I asked here.

    I didn't get what is my probem.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 03-25-2010 at 08:56 PM.

  6. #6
    Member MosGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default Re: Undefined video mode number 317

    Quote Originally Posted by darkhorn View Post
    What is the "appropriate section"?
    Where is used "defoptions=vga=0x315", what does it mean?
    I'm not on my netbook right now so I can't check precisely. But there's a commented example i.e: #defoptions= . Below this is where I added the vga line. The main one to edit is: scroll down and modify the default kernel boot option (scroll right). Find vga=0x317 and change it to: vga=0x315 . Then save and reboot, that should stop the error. The defoptions line likely isn't needed but I added it anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Forensic mode suggestions
    By Donuts in forum Tool Requests
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2010, 02:21 PM
  2. how to set backtrack 4 in the terminal mode?
    By ozzzia in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 07:56 PM
  3. Start BT4 in graphical mode
    By spywiz in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 10:03 AM
  4. help how to boot in graphical mode
    By vytas in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 10:39 PM
  5. graphical mode from ram
    By ross1234 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 10:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •