Thread: Need Advice on MS Exchange

Default Need Advice on MS Exchange

On a recent assessment I found Nessus pop 11852. Manually testing the SMTP service I was unable to recreate the issue Nessus was reporting (relay). However, I was able to connect via SMTP and send mail as someone from the company (i.e.: admin@example.com) to other people in the company (i.e.: bob.smith@example.com).

Is there a way to configure exchange so that if an email originates on a server from a "local" (or whatever you want to call it) user the sender needs to be authenticated to that server (or the AD)?

Obviously everyone externally should be able to send to bob.smith@example.com (regular relay) but I need to prevent sending as admin@example.com or as Bob Smith himself to internal addresses.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    On a recent assessment I found Nessus pop 11852. Manually testing the SMTP service I was unable to recreate the issue Nessus was reporting (relay). However, I was able to connect via SMTP and send mail as someone from the company (i.e.: admin@example.com) to other people in the company (i.e.: bob.smith@example.com).

Is there a way to configure exchange so that if an email originates on a server from a "local" (or whatever you want to call it) user the sender needs to be authenticated to that server (or the AD)?

Obviously everyone externally should be able to send to bob.smith@example.com (regular relay) but I need to prevent sending as admin@example.com or as Bob Smith himself to internal addresses.
    Exchange Server: Stop Spam From the Inside by Locking Down SMTP