Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Customizing BT manually

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default Customizing BT manually

    Is there any way to customize BTPF iso manually? The script i downloaded from offensive-security didnt really work (came up with errors) so I was wondering if you could run a VM off of the iso and update/install apps that way.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The new forums
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Did you try following the video tutorial posted?

    http://www.offensive-security.com/bl...-the-easy-way/

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d@rkfe@r
    The script i downloaded from offensive-security didnt really work
    Yes I have as I stated this in my post.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Read the text posts on the Offsec blog, and read through the script to see how it works. You should be able to get it working with that information...
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I have lupin and I made my own script that kind of gets the job done but when ever i do apt-get install it always says dpkg is in use but its not in the process list.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d@rkfe@r View Post
    I have lupin and I made my own script that kind of gets the job done but when ever i do apt-get install it always says dpkg is in use but its not in the process list.
    That also happens when you have any other package manager open or when the dpkg database is otherwise deemed to be locked. Make sure you have chrooted yourself correctly and have a search of Google for a solution.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Ok lupin. Ill give that a shot when I get home from work today. Ill let you know how it goes.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Well after taking a look at the code it expects the iso to be "bt4-pre-final.iso" not "bt4.iso" like the video says. I ran across a few bumps but it works now.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Ran across same bumps, Ironically it's looking for the default, so those too lazy to read the post are better off than those who did xD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •