Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Backtrack 3+Atheros

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Backtrack 3+Atheros

    Hi,

    As you can see, i'm new here...but i did try to read as much as i could before posting...

    I'm trying to see if it's possible to find the wep key of my router.

    I tryed with laptop standard wireless card 4965agn but i found out that this process works better with a usb wireless conection.

    So i bought a tp-link usb wireless acess.

    I managed to get some data packadge, but i was very very slow. (15 hours to get 4500 data).

    So i bought another usb wireless acess. TP-Link TL-WN821N.

    VMware identifies it as Atheros 2.0 USB Wlan.

    But now the problem is that i can find the device using airmon-ng.

    I've tryed using backtrack 3 cd bot, vmware machine and also USB boot device. Nothing helps to detect this new usb wireless acess.

    I'm also not sure if i'm using the latest backtrack kernel. And i also have no ideia on how to update it...

    I've tried downloading the new BT 4 but i can seem to run it like i run BT 3.

    How can i get this wireless acess to run on BT3?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    The madwifi drivers in bt3 do not work with any usb cards. You will need to get bt4-prefinal and use the ath5k drivers

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thanks for the advise.

    i've now installed BT4.

    logged in as root but i still can't detect my wireless acess.

    airmon-ng is compleatlly empty...

    how can i install the drivers you've sugested?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    916

    Default

    The drivers does not need to be installed. You probably will need to try updating the kernel which is available in the repository.

    If you are going to install any drivers. Let me warn you that you will lose injection capability (85% chance of overwriting pre-patched work).

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thanks for the tips.

    were can a find a tutorial on how to update the kernel?

    hi

    thanks for the tips.

    where can a find a tutorial on how to update the kernel?

    thank you.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sagan_pt View Post
    thanks for the tips.
    were can a find a tutorial on how to update the kernel?
    hi
    thanks for the tips.
    where can a find a tutorial on how to update the kernel?
    thank you.
    Do not double post, during your first 3 days of membership your posts will be moderated. Reread the rules you agreed to uphold.
    Thanks
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    sorry for the double post.

    this is really getting on my nervs... errrrrrr!

    i've been running BT4 but haven't been able to detect my usb wireless acess.

    i've used VMware to make a hard disc instalation of BT4. So i'm not running a live cd.

    in BT4 if i go to System-> Settings -> Hardware -> USB devices i can see that BT detects the usb wireless. It identifies as USB 2.0 WLan Atheros Comunication.

    But so far, using aimon-ng, i've never been able to capture it...

    Any ideias?

  8. #8
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sagan_pt
    But so far, using aimon-ng, i've never been able to capture it...
    using airmon-ng you not able to capture what exactly ??

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    using airmon-ng i get no interface, no chipset and no driver...

    when using the first dongle i had it appeard rausb0...

    but now this new and better one with atheros chip, can seem to get it to work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •