Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Kernel Panic after Ubuntu & GRUB2 install

  1. #11
    Junior Member MaxRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twistr View Post
    Can you see the BT partition from Ubuntu ? You should have, as well as the Windows. If yes, then try exploring the old lilo.conf, stored on BT partition, it should be still there, I suppose. I'm not sure if it helps, but may give some clues.
    Thanks, but it only showed drives.

  2. #12
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    post output of

    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Cheers

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO Track404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Not that it helps but heres mine, how ever Backtrack lies on a separate harddrive.

    menuentry "Backtrack3 (on /dev/sdb1)" {
    insmod ext2
    set root=(hd1,1)
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 294f31d8-364a-4e26-8d8a-01e94393e3e3
    linux /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hdb1 vga=791

  4. #14
    Junior Member MaxRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Dr Green,
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x92e4538c
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *           1       12748   102398278+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2           18821       19457     5116702+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda3           12749       18820    48773340    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5           12749       18566    46733053+  83  Linux
    /dev/sda6           18567       18820     2040223+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    Track404,
    Thanks for that! But I'm afraid mine looks almost exaclty like that, except reiserfs instead of ext2. But you're proof that you can get the multi-boot working with Grub2, so I'm not going to give up

    Edit: YES track, you are a genius! I noticed that you had "root=/dev/hdb1", and I had "root=current". I changed my to "root=/dev/sda2" and it booted right up perfectly! And you thought that posting that wouldn't do any good

    So I'm back on the game, problem solved, thanks guys!

    ~MaxRabbit

  5. #15
    Very good friend of the forum drgr33n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Dark side of the moon ...
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxRabbit
    I removed the search and nothing changed. Then with root=/dev/sda2 I get a message saying that the drive doesn't exist. I'm certain that it is /sda2.
    I thought you had tried this and it didn't boot ??

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO Track404's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Cool now all you have to do is add ( initrd /boot/initrd.gz ) to the end for the splash

  7. #17
    Junior Member MaxRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr_GrEeN View Post
    I thought you had tried this and it didn't boot ??
    Dr Green: I apologize profusely. I did not notice that the bottom line also had a "root=". So what I changed based on your suggestion was the "set root=" line. I hope you can see where I was coming from, but nevertheless I apologize many times over for not understanding your suggestion in the first place!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •