Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HP Netbook 311 and Backtrack 4 PR Networking Problem

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default HP Netbook 311 and Backtrack 4 PR Networking Problem

    I've tried manually configuring an address to the physical interface, and adding a default route.

    I've tried DHCP through the physical interface which no servers reply.

    I've also tried connecting via the wireless interface with the same result.

    Has anyone been able to utilize the network interfaces on the HP 311 netbook or are there additional drivers that I need to add via usb, etc?

    I can see layer-2 traffic on the switch via tcpdump.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Care to tell us the type of card you have ?
    In addition a lspci output with the cards relevant info would be nice.
    Also what commands you are trying, along with their output.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Sometimes the answer is the easiest, and of course.. the last thing I tried.

    /etc/init.d/networking start

    fwiw

    I was using

    ifup eth0
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.4
    route add -net 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.1

    I tried a couple of variations on the above commands and wasn't getting any obvious errors..

    However, the networking script seemed to work better go figure. Thanks for the response though. Now, onto wireless.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manic View Post
    Sometimes the answer is the easiest, and of course.. the last thing I tried.

    /etc/init.d/networking start

    fwiw

    I was using

    ifup eth0
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.4
    route add -net 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.1

    I tried a couple of variations on the above commands and wasn't getting any obvious errors..

    However, the networking script seemed to work better go figure. Thanks for the response though. Now, onto wireless.
    After starting KDE, this works for both cabled and wireless...

    Code:
    root@bt:/etc/init.d# start-network
    Which does

    Code:
    root@bt:~# /etc/init.d/wicd start
    root@bt:~# wicd-client
    Or, if your click happy...

    BT Icon - Services - Network - Start Network (Which does the same as above)

    and then

    BT Icon - Internet - Wicd Network Manager



    I am to new to flame, and I don't really like being rude, but this comes up every day, and I have only been here a short while. Google search using the site specifier may help your information hunt. Forum searches work, but are not as efficient.

    Code:
    site:forums.remote-exploit.org start networking

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Restart

    I had to sudo /etc/init.d/networking start every time I restarted so I added that to my rs.local (last line). I dont know if this is a "best" practice (new to backtrack and barely dangerous in linux), so now when I restart its already done.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unifiedtheory212 View Post
    I had to sudo /etc/init.d/networking start every time I restarted so I added that to my rs.local (last line). I dont know if this is a "best" practice (new to backtrack and barely dangerous in linux), so now when I restart its already done.
    There are times that I want to do things before the network is started. I also like the wicd-client because of it's central place to edit WAP/WEP or what ever you are connecting to. Instead of editing the various files manually and starting/stopping services, and flushing route tables... it is all done with the wicd-client. Also, profiles are nice if you visit multiple locations.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •