Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: airodump-ng problem

  1. #11
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    To me it sounds like your wireless adapter has been turned off in windows (possibly using hotkey ?) and you are then starting BT3F..

    I recently turned off wireless on my laptop to save battery, then a while later when starting it up from hibernation and booting direct into backtrack, I forgot about having turned the wireless adapter off in windows..

    Took me a while to figure out what the hell I was doing wrong

    But I was getting the exact same..

    Do you have a led showing wireless activity on your laptop or you have a different setup ?

    Give more info.

  2. #12
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tudy7 View Post
    bt ~ # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wifi0 no wireless extensions.

    ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"" Nickname:""
    Mode:Monitor Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:16 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
    Retryff RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-96 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
    wifi0 no wireless extensions? This is odd. Can you connect to the internet with that card? Are you sure that the drivers are currently installed/loaded?

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =TAPE= View Post
    To me it sounds like your wireless adapter has been turned off in windows (possibly using hotkey ?) and you are then starting BT3F..

    I recently turned off wireless on my laptop to save battery, then a while later when starting it up from hibernation and booting direct into backtrack, I forgot about having turned the wireless adapter off in windows..

    Took me a while to figure out what the hell I was doing wrong

    But I was getting the exact same..

    Do you have a led showing wireless activity on your laptop or you have a different setup ?

    Give more info.
    finally u get it..
    i have a led and i turn card on with hot keys (Fn+F1 with LaunchManager)
    and card works fine with windows..but when i start backtrack (after rebooting) the led is turning off (after being turned on) which means that card is turned off..
    so..i need something to turn my card on because hot keys dont work with BT
    but what??

  4. #14
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    That little snippet of info about the led being off would have been helpful in your first post as well

    You should check your BIOS settings..

    Should be able to set it so that the wireless is always turned on when starting, however..
    without more information on your laptop etc, no way to help you.

    To be honest though, you now have enough information to be able to help yourself with google and should do that.

  5. #15
    Junior Member daffyduc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I had a very similar problem with MY hp laptop that has a hot key to enable wireless...


    google ubuntu 8.10 fn hot keys not working

    thats how I fixed it....

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =TAPE= View Post
    That little snippet of info about the led being off would have been helpful in your first post as well

    You should check your BIOS settings..

    Should be able to set it so that the wireless is always turned on when starting, however..
    without more information on your laptop etc, no way to help you.

    To be honest though, you now have enough information to be able to help yourself with google and should do that.
    i write about launch manager in some of first posts.

    i checked BIOS and wireless card is enabled..but if i want her to work i have to active it with Fn+F1 (Launch Manager) and that works only with windows.

    and if i put her in desabled mode then i cant activate her.

    so..it seems that in BIOS has to be enabled that u can active her later in widows..

    and if i start launch manager (with no using hotkeys) in Back Track i get the same thing like in windows when it is disabled.. (cant activate WLAN)



    @daffyduc
    would this work on Back Track (caouse this is about Ubuntu.....) ?

  7. #17
    Junior Member imported_freedom56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tudy7 View Post

    would this work on Back Track (caouse this is about Ubuntu.....) ?
    BT4 is based off of Ubuntu 8.10
    "One of the main causes for the fall of the Roman Empire was that, lacking zero, they had no way to indicate successful termination of their C programs."

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daffyduc View Post
    I had a very similar problem with MY hp laptop that has a hot key to enable wireless...


    google ubuntu 8.10 fn hot keys not working

    thats how I fixed it....
    i cant do that because i currently dont have wire conection. -.-

  9. #19
    Junior Member imported_freedom56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tudy7 View Post
    i cant do that because i currently dont have wire conection. -.-
    I am slightly confused. you cannot use Google because you do not have wired connection? How are you on this forum? I am positive you will get the same result Googling from the pc you are using to view this forum as you would from another pc.
    "One of the main causes for the fall of the Roman Empire was that, lacking zero, they had no way to indicate successful termination of their C programs."

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by freedom56 View Post
    I am slightly confused. you cannot use Google because you do not have wired connection? How are you on this forum? I am positive you will get the same result Googling from the pc you are using to view this forum as you would from another pc.
    no.no
    i can google it and i have google it.
    but i cant do that thing because i dont have wire conection currently..
    im on forum and on internet with same notebook i cant turn on card in backtrack..
    im using windows 7 to view internet and this forum and card works fine.

    only thing i dont know how to do is..hot to activate card while im using back track.
    get it now?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •