Thread: i need some explantations about exploits

Just burned his ISO

Question i need some explantations about exploits

hello, i have some questions on which i could not find answers, so i decided to ask here. I must say that i'm quite new in backtrack. Here is my question...every tutorial, every post and every video which i have looked about penetrating is about sm08_067_netapi, but if i understod good enough, it is just for computers that are in same network (every RHOST address is 192.168.1......), i'm interested about, which exploit should be used to penetrait in system which is not in our network???? I'm not sure that i asked propertly what i want to know...some tutorials would be useful or some recomandation what should i look for....thank you

Just burned his ISO

Default Re: i need some explantations about exploits

Well, considering the fact that most "exploits" are done first once gaining access to the network, I'm really failing to understand what it is you're trying to do.

However, if -say- you're trying test your firewall capability, you can easily try throwing commands at your IP address using a tunnel on various open ports. The idea is you want to try to figure out what it is the network is running, as many programs use specific ports and usually admins fail to use non-standard ones.

A good place to start, especially if you're running apache servers and such, is to constantly check for security holes in the updates for those products. Rule of thumb is to not necessarily stay up to date, but use stable builds.

I'm being quite vague in my post, I realize, but these are things that are easily looked up and are generally specific to a network.

If only someone had written a HowTo on how exploits work....

Your question also contains an unstated assumption that makes me think you would also benefit from brushing up on your TCP/IP-fu. TCP/IP Illustrated or the Cisco CCNA Study Guide are both excellent references.