Thread: Debian GNU/Linux lenny.sid tty1 login problems

Just burned his ISO

Default Debian GNU/Linux lenny.sid tty1 login problems

Hello
    This is my first time I am using the forum and I feel sorry that I now decided to registered. Usually I was browsing the various posts and getting the answers to various questions I had but now i find my self in a position that desperately needs help.

I am new to Linux so a newbie but I am trying to gather as much knowledge and eventually get rid of the Windows OS. Also English is not my native language.

A friend of my gave me a game server based in Debian version Lennny/SID
    and I need to know if it is possible to find the login password. He got the PC from his fathers shop. His father bought it from a customer in order to resell it but my friend decides to keep it hopefully to have a look if the machine it is good for a game server so to load a game and use it all of the friends.

It is a Dell PC. It is booting normally and comes to this point

Debian GNU/Linux lenny.sid test-system tty1

test-system login:

I boot from an Ubuntu DVD and mount the HDD. After finding the /etc file I found out that they were not accessible so I could not see their contents and hopefully get to the login password.
    Later on I got in the terminal and tried some commands. Below are the results:

media/ROOT/etc

unshadow PASSWORD-FILE- SHADOW-FILE

pwunconv can’t lock passwd file

grpunconv can’t lock group file

Later tried to use John the ripper to try to recover the password and here are the results again:

john passwd Loaded 0 passwords cracked, existing...

john --show --shells=-/etc/expired passwd Loaded 0 passwords cracked, 0 left
    I read that john can not recover passwd unless is shown but I could not because trying to unshadow the passwd, passwd-, group, files I could not