Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: How do i connect to internet with bt4.

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default How do i connect to internet with bt4.

    How do i connect to internet with bt4. i tried this but it didnt work:

    ifconfig wlan0 up

    iwlist scan

    if config wlan0 essid [name] key [key]

    but it didnt work. i also tried it with:

    iwconfig wlan0 key [key] mode managed essid [neame] channel [channel #] ap xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

    but this also fails.

    also if you use macchanger will you connect with the real mac address or the faked mac address.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member Sniffing4Prison's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by J1234 View Post
    How do i connect to internet with bt4. i tried this but it didnt work:

    ifconfig wlan0 up

    iwlist scan

    if config wlan0 essid [name] key [key]

    but it didnt work. i also tried it with:

    iwconfig wlan0 key [key] mode managed essid [neame] channel [channel #] ap xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx

    but this also fails.

    also if you use macchanger will you connect with the real mac address or the faked mac address.

    Thanks
    I don't think ifconfig will work for a wireless interface.

    Some cards don't like connecting with a fake mac. Mine does not: which is a shame. But in the case yours does, as long as the interface you've changed the MAC on is the one you're connecting with, it should register with the AP as the MAC it's been changed to.

    You should consider learning Linux before you tackle BT4; I've already gotten 70 pages into an online book and it's saving me a ton of grief (why in the world was I poking around in the X11 directory before?). I also gained a lot of respect for the work put into the BT4 distro.

    More towards your question:
    hxxp://linux.die.net/man/8/iwconfig
    RTM

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks for that.

    Update:

    i now have tried following this tutorial:

    [this was a link to a remote exploite tutorial but i have under 15 posts]

    i set up ssh useing:
    sshd-generate
    then
    /etc/init.d/ssh start

    then i use /etc/init.d/wicd to start wicd manager.

    i set it to wep password - i check use encription and i insert the passkey.

    at first it would take ages then say connected to wired connection.( i dont even have a wired conection). so i deleted the wired connection option.

    now all it says it not connected.

    can anyone shed some light. thanks.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Nick_the_Greek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    181

    Default

    I don't want to be rude but I got to ask.

    Why don't you read about Linux basics before you post?
    In theory you can post here when you got a problem or to learn for something that you don't understand or to share with us knowledge. What is your problem here? It didn't work because you don't know what are doing.

    iwlist scan
    if config wlan0 essid [name] key [key]
    What the hell are those?

    Start by:
    Code:
    man ifconfig
    man iwconfig
    man iwlist
    also if you use macchanger will you connect with the real mac address or the faked mac address.
    Why don't you try to connect with the mac changed and see into your AP's log to see what MAC has logged? After all it's your AP. Right?

    Please my friend, read stickys, rules, search here, google.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    those command was what i found on a forum.

    thanks for the man command. i have been looking for lists of commands and examples.

    right i am doing a new post becuase i am very very pissed off. i have been looking all day to try and get connected to the internet. i have gone through tooooo many forums trying to fix this problem.

    i have read all man iwconfig, man ifconfig, man iwlist, man airdump-ng, and a few more.

    my computer seems to refuse to connect.

    the error i keep getting is:
    error for wireless request "set essid" (8b1a) :
    set failed on device wlan0 ; operation not supported

    OR:
    error for wireless request "set essid" (8b1a) :
    set failed on device wlan0 ; no such device.

    i have tried so many different combinations (and all that i could together) of iwconfig.

    here is my most recent which resulted in the second error stated above:

    iwconfig wlan0 essid BTHomeHub-XXXX ap XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX channel X key XXXXXXXXXX commit

    just to stop that one silly remark = (i have replace all numbers with X)

    Please one of you let me know what im doing wrong.
    and could someone please paste the code you use to connect to wep, just so i can compare.

    Thanks... Jay

    p.s i have read more than enough to say that i am stuck and justify asking this question.

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    You've already started a thread on this very same topic, why are you starting another one?

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/new...onnecting.html
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Because im pissed, i dont know y, sry.

    Any chance in you giving me an answer.

  8. #8
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by J1234 View Post
    Because im pissed, i dont know y, sry.

    Any chance in you giving me an answer.
    You being pissed is not our problem, follow the rules.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by J1234 View Post
    Because im pissed, i dont know y, sry.

    Any chance in you giving me an answer.
    No but there is a chance that if you don't read and comply with the rules you can take up space on the internet somewhere else.

    Further more use the edit button on your post instead of making multiple consecutive ones.

    And make sensible descriptive titles to your threads not "connecting?????" et al.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    1234567890

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •