Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: how to test Alfa AWUS036H is 500mW or 1W?

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by This is the latest version of Alfa sku AWUS036H: It was formerly designated as a 500mW device and now Alfa is claiming that the specification is 1000mW (1-watt): However, in our tests of this latest version against the previous (500mW) version, we find an improvement in signal strength of approximately 7% vs. the previous (500mW) version.[/I
    [/B]

    So it doesnt apepar to be true.
    i think you need the 1w 13" antena to get a better signal

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Everyone i have talked to states that you see very little improvement from the 500mW to the 1000mW. Even with the 15" 9dbi gain antenna i saw very little improvement over the stock antenna. Any AP's i was able to pickup with the 15" antenna i was able to see with the stock, with maybe a few higher dbi signal.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    But you shouldn't expect that much difference between a tx power of 500 or 1000mw imho... That translates to only 3dBm difference, 500mw being 27dBm and 1000mw 30dBm?

    I've received mine today together with the 5 and 9 dBi antennas. Did a little test by keeping my laptop at a fixed spot and let kismet run for 5 minutes with both the 5 and the 9 antenna at a place where I know there are a lot of signals.
    With the 5dBi antenna it picked up 47 AP's. With the 9dBi it picked up 54. All depends on the place you are in I guess, but there is a difference...

    You have to remember, a lot of stuff in the RF world is presented on a logarithmic scale. You cant always use a lineair scale and e.g. assume that twice the watts in txpower means twice the range/signal strength. It does not work that way.

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Oh and btw, when you try to set tx-power using iw-priv you cannot set it above 27dBm which is 500mw. If you want the full 30dBm you have to:

    iw reg set BO

    Don't ask me why Bolivia, but you'll see a tx-power of 30dBm in iwconfig after this

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kia69 View Post
    I was watching the antenna that the alfa have by default, use other antenna like the one that came with the Gsky, I order an alfa 1watt so I will do a home made test, reading the “Network Stumbler” program, if the numbers stay the same then I will have a backup usb antenna lol.
    Were you ever able to get Network Stumbler working with either? I read of people getting it to work, but I have not been able to.

  6. #16
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shady View Post
    Were you ever able to get Network Stumbler working with either? I read of people getting it to work, but I have not been able to.
    Netstumbler is a windows tool, though not supported here. But since i'm in a good mood, i'll tell you this: I've red reports that Netstumbler only works ok in XP, not in vista nor 7. Hope you find the info useful.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •