Thread: Identifying network shares

Good friend of the forums williamc's Avatar

Default Identifying network shares

I wanted to get feedback on methods to identify network shares. I'm performing a pen-test for a health care organization. One of their main concerns is open shares with PHI. I've been using the following tools to identify Windows shares:
    Shareenum
    Legion

Shareenum uses administrative credentials to scan active directory for open shares. Legion scans IP addresses, and requires no creds. However, I need a comprehensive account of all their shares, with ntfs permissions too. Any suggestions?

On the *nix side, I've been running port scans for NFS (2049) and then created a script to showmount -e %i. I then parse through the results looking for "everyone". Any other approaches you can recommend? Thanks

For FTP, I port scan for port 21. Then, I put the IP list through nsat with the option to locate "anonymous".

Any help is appreciated!

William

Very good friend of the forum hhmatt's Avatar

Hope this will help. It's the Windows Server 2003 Access-based enumeration tool. From what I've read it will identify shares and grab permissions aswell across a domain.

Download details: Windows Server 2003 Access-based Enumeration

Quote Originally Posted by williamc View Post
    I wanted to get feedback on methods to identify network shares. I'm performing a pen-test for a health care organization. One of their main concerns is open shares with PHI. I've been using the following tools to identify Windows shares:
    Shareenum
    Legion

Shareenum uses administrative credentials to scan active directory for open shares. Legion scans IP addresses, and requires no creds. However, I need a comprehensive account of all their shares, with ntfs permissions too. Any suggestions?